Music composed by PANU AALTIO

MovieScore Media travels to the Mediterranean with award-winning composer Panu Aaltio’s music for  THE ISLAND OF SECRETS, a youth-oriented adventure film directed by Taavi Vartia. The contemporary adventure/action score pays homage to the classic 1980s blockbuster sound perfected by John Williams (the Indiana Jonesfilms) and Alan Silvestri (Back to the Future). The music spans a great main theme for our teenaged heroes as their youthful vigor is mixed with a hint of Mediterranean-flavored escapism. “One of the main characters in the film dreams of becoming Indiana Jones when he grows up, so of course I had to play with that a bit”, explains the composer about his approach to the music.

The Island of Secrets marks the fourth MovieScore Media release with  Panu Aaltio. Their latest collaboration was Tale of a Forest(2012) which was voted as the Best Original Documentary Score by the International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA). His other previous credits on MovieScore Media are The Home of Dark Butterflies (2009), Finland’s official submission for the 2009 Academy Awards and the epic Dawn of the Dragonslayer (2009). Training as a cellist since the age of six, Aaltio also studied music technology and classical composition at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki and film music at the University of Southern California where he received the Harry Warren Scholarship for Excellence in Film Scoring. He is currently working on Tale of a Lake (2015), a sequel to the Tale of a Forest.

Taavi Vartia’s The Island of Secrets is a Finnish-Greek co-production about a vacationing family whose children get involved in an exciting hunt to capture illegal treasure hunters. Our main heroes are Toni, Aleksi and Veeti, who really wishes he could be Indiana Jones – when the occasion arises, the three kids are more than happy to save artifacts and put bad guys behind bars. By teaming up with expert driver Adriana, the three boys are about to have the most adventurous summer of their lives!

MMS15004 • Release date (digital): February 10, 2015
Release date (CD): February 17, 2015

View in iTunes


1 Duel at Sea 2:39
2 Toni and Adriana 1:31
3 Hidden Treasure 1:34
4 The Adventure Begins 1:50
5 Underwater 1:52
6 Chasing Kidnappers 3:03
7 The Treasure Thief 1:38
8 A Sinister Plot 3:07
9 Bicycle Heist 1:34
10 Narrow Escape 2:02
11 They Have Taken Her 2:13
12 A Cunning Plan 2:24
13 Turning Point 1:30
14 The Legend of Athanasios 4:02
15 Spying on the Thieves 2:17
16 We Need a Disguise 1:55
17 Getting Off the Ship 1:30
18 End of the Line 2:55
19 The Rescue 1:45
20 Holiday Heroes 2:42