Featuring Original Score By Lorne Balfe

Lakeshore Records will release the AMERICAN HERO – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on December 11th and on CD in early 2016. The album features the film’s original score by Lorne Balfe (TERMINATOR: GENISYS, PENGUINS OF MADAGASCAR).

“Any opportunity working with [writer/director] Nick Love is always going to be an interesting adventure,” said Balfe. “Nick might not be academically musical when he describes what he wants but he certainly lives and breathes music. Most of the time I think Nick has the most amazing soundtrack constantly running through his head!”

“The concept for AMERICAN HERO was simple; a different type of superhero movie – one that you could really believe in – from the story to the casting to the acting to the photography to the editing to the score,” said Love.  “For me, what makes Lorne’s score so special is simply that’s it’s so unexpected. To have such poetic and stirring music juxtaposed with the impecunious and harsh nature of the ghetto in New Orleans, feels so right.”

Melvin (Stephen Dorff), a reluctant hero who is far from super, has been suppressing his telekinetic powers for years with booze, drugs, and women.  In the process, he has failed at practically everything, most of all as a parent to his son.  After a brush with death, Melvin decides to use his powers for good and clean up the streets of New Orleans with the help of his best friend/definitely-not-a-sidekick, Lucille (Eddie Griffin).  For a man who can do the impossible, it might be a fight even he can’t win.

“The music Nick wanted for his film was not going to be typical of the film’s genre,” explained Balfe.  “He wanted a score that was intimate and personal and it was a very difficult tight rope to walk in trying to prevent the music from potentially overstaying its welcome.  In the end though I think we were able to create a score that is as unique and surprising as the film itself. ”

Screen Media Films presents AMERICAN HERO in select theaters and Video On Demand on December 11, 2015. Lakeshore Records will release the AMERICAN HERO – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on December 11 and on CD in early 2016.


1. American Hero
2. At the Scene
3. Results
4. I’m So Sorry
5. Party Hard
6. Never Better
7. F*ck Off
8. Go Faster
9. Stolen Booze
10. You See, Don’t You?
11. School Run
12. Melvin!
13. Ride