Featuring Original Music Composed By Edwin Wendler

Howlin’ Wolf Records released the I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE III: VENGEANCE IS MINE – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on CD December 11, 2015.  The album features the original music created by composer Edwin Wendler (UNNATURAL, TALES OF HALLOWEEN, NON-STOP).

When approaching Edwin Wendler to score their movie, producer Lisa Hansen and co-producer Adam Driscoll were looking for music that was subtly emotional and contemporary. Wendler stated, “They really liked my music for the movie ‘Broken Angel,’ so we took that as a starting point, and I adapted that concept for this movie. Lisa and Adam responded well to the inclusion of vocals, which I thought would help the audience find a direct, emotional connection to the main character.” Wendler’s knack for unusual electronic textures and his background in vocal performance guided him through the process of creating the score.

During his years in the Vienna Boys’ Choir, Edwin toured the world, singing in hundreds of concerts and dozens of opera performances.  He earned Certificates in Film Scoring and Screenwriting from UCLA Extension in 2000, and was accepted into the prestigious ASCAP Film Scoring Workshop in 2004. In 2010, Wendler won a “Best Score” award at the Los Angeles International Film Festival, for his epic score, AZUREUS RISING. Wendler’s feature film credits as a composer include THE INTERIOR, CHRISTMAS WITH A CAPITAL C, ESCAPE, TALES OF HALLOWEEN and UNNATURAL. Wendler also composed additional music for the box office hit, NON-STOP, starring Liam Neeson.

Wendler’s credits as an arranger and programmer include movies such as THE NICE GUYS, X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST, UNKNOWN, LITTLE FOCKERS, THE LOSERS and INTO THE BLUE. Wendler’s television credits include arranging on the 2006 Showtime series, SLEEPER CELL: AMERICAN TERROR, as well as composing additional music for NBC’s popular reality series, FEAR FACTOR.

Since the events of I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE (2010), Jennifer Hills (Sarah Butler) has been tormented by the brutal, sexual assault she endured years ago. She has changed identities and cities in order to start a new life.  Following her therapist’s advice, she reluctantly joins a support group where she befriends a fellow group member. When her new friend’s murderer goes free and the tales of serial rapists haunt her, Jennifer hunts down the men responsible in order to do what the system won’t – make them pay for their crimes in the most horrific ways imaginable. Only this time, no jury may be able to save her.

In order to connect movie watchers to the central character, Wendler made sure that the main theme appeared in key moments of the story. “Jennifer needed a theme that sounded mournful, but also noble and somewhat twisted, all at the same time. Her intentions are very understandable, almost virtuous, so the melody needed to reflect that through a certain amount of beauty and lyricism, yet I asked vocalist Aeralie Brighton to sing as though she was pissed off.  I hope we achieved the right balance.” Wendler went on to say, “I started with the main title, establishing some of the sounds and textures, as well as Aeralie Brighton’s vocals, brittle and almost imperceptible in the beginning.  A quick taste of things to come.”

Anchor Bay Entertainment presents I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE III: VENGEANCE IS MINE in theatres nationwide on October 9, 2015.


1. Men (feat. Aeralie Brighton)
2. Vengeance (feat. Aeralie Brighton)
3. Group (feat. Aeralie Brighton)
4. Marla
5. Cassie
6. McDylan
7. Nicholas (feat. Aeralie Brighton)
8. Ron (feat. Aeralie Brighton)
9. Oscar
10. Cole
11. Bolton (feat. Aeralie Brighton)
12. Angela (feat. Aeralie Brighton)