Composed and Conducted by JERRY GOLDSMITH

Intrada is putting out Inchon again! Since the previous release, Intrada has gained access to the original 1/4″ 2-track masters that were identified as “safeties” which are masters created “just in case” something happens to the full, multitrack session tapes. Composer Jerry Goldsmith and engineer Len Engel always preferred using these multitrack sources back when they produced the original albums, and Intrada continued to leverage these for subsequent releases. Once available, Intrada decided to review these safety copies and discovered that everyone was too quick to dismiss them back in the day as they had superior sound, allowing Inchon to shine better than ever. Faced with the quandary of letting these masters languish or putting out a new edition only four years after the previous one, Intrada decided to ignore any potential grumbling from collectors and offer a new release for those that missed it the first 20 times, as well as those who would appreciate the upgraded sonics.

This new edition includes the three programs from the prior release. A a quick reminder: The first two are the same as previously released—the original LP presentation as Goldsmith had initially presented his score, plus a second disc featuring the complete score, retaining all of Goldsmith’s assemblies from the LP presentation. The third disc features the entire, unassembled score in film order. This allows listeners to hear openings and closings of many tracks previously unheard. As an added bonus, those insatiable listeners can now enjoy several new “extras” not previously released that contain early finished takes and slightly altered versions of cues that Goldsmith discarded. Technically, these new additions make minimal musical contributions to what was already available, but they now give listeners virtually everything Goldsmith recorded during those 1982 sessions.

Note that the digital release will only contain the contents of disc 1 and disc 2.

The film may be forgotten, but what lives on is Jerry Goldsmith’s dynamic, colorful and percussive score. The score features an augmented percussion section, including snares, bass drum, cymbals, timpani, triangle, xylophone, woodblocks, boo bams, and many others. At the time of the film’s release, Goldsmith had artfully assembled a 38-minute album capturing the highlights and delivering an irresistible listening experience. Intrada has since expanded the score to feature all of Goldsmith’s powerful and colorful score.

The 1982 epic chronicles the massive-force invasion of South Korea led by General Douglas MacArthur. The film had all the right ingredients: a cast that included Ben Gazzara, Jacqueline Bisset, and none other than Sir Laurence Olivier in the role of MacArthur; James Bond veteran director Terence Young at the helm; and a world-class composer— the unequaled Jerry Goldsmith, who gave the film its spirit. Nonetheless, the production was plagued with both natural and man-made troubles, resulting in a film that cost over $44M, was cut from its original 140-minute length to 105 minutes when it went into “wide” release in September 1982, closed relatively quickly, and fell into obscurity.
Intrada Special Collection Volume ISC 501
Film Date: 1982
Album Date: 2024
Time: 162.31
Tracks: 72

CD 1 1982 Soundtrack Album
01. Main Title (2:26)
02. Resignation (2:17)
03. The Bridge (3:37)
04. The Church (4:03)
05. The Mines (4:24)
06. Task Force (3:12)
07. Medley (2:18)
08. Love Theme (2:55)
09. The Tanks (3:47)
10. Lim’s Death (3:18)
11. The Trucks (2:58)
12. Inchon Theme (3:28)

CD 2 2006 Score Assembly
01. Prologue And Main Title (3:53)
02. The Bridge (3:37)
03. The 38th Parallel (1:23)
04. Medley (2:18)
05. Love Theme (Album Version) (2:55)
06. The Aftermath (0:55)
07. The Tanks (3:47)
08. A Change Of Course (1:16)
09. The Church (2:29)
10. MacArthur’s Arrival (0:55)
11. The Harbor (1:20)
12. The Trucks (3:08)
13. Corpses (1:21)
14. The Children (Original) (0:51)
15. The Apology (2:43)
16. The Lighthouse (2:34)
17. The Clock Watcher (0:40)
18. The Mines (5:12)
19. Resignation (2:17)
20. The Landing (1:23)
21. Lim’s Death (2:12)
22. The Scroll (2:22)
23. Task Force (3:08)
24. Inchon Theme (3:24)
Total Time: 56:06

CD 3 Complete Score In Sequence
01. Prologue (1:41)
02. Main Title (2:26)
03. The Bridge (1:50)
04. The 38th Parallel (1:23)
05. MacArthur (1:00)
06. The Aftermath (0:55)
07. The Tragedy (1:14)
08. Tanks Arrive (1:59)
09. A Change Of Course (1:16)
10. The Church (2:29)
11. MacArthur’s Arrival (0:55)
12. The Harbor (1:20)
13. The Tanks (2:59)
14. The Trucks (3:08)
15. Lim And The Children (1:28)
16. Corpses (1:21)
17. The Pledge (0:39)
18. The Children (Original) (0:51)
19. The Apology (2:43)
20. The Clock Watcher (0:40)
21. The Lighthouse (2:34)
22. The Ships (2:23)
23. The Mines (4:31)
24. Resignation (2:17)
25. The Landing (1:23)
26. Lim’s Death (1:43)
27. The Scroll (2:22)
28. Task Force (Revised) (1:20)
29. Inchon Theme (3:24)
30. Love Theme (Album Version) (2:55)
Total Score Time: 57:17

31. The Children (Revised) (0:48)
32. The Ships (Alternate) (2:26)
33. The Bridge (Early Take) (1:49)
34. The Pledge (Early Take) (0:42)
35. The Trucks (Early Take) (3:07)
36. Task Force (Original) (1:20)
Total Extras Time: 13:20
Total CD 3 Time: 67:40