Music Composed by PATRICK JONSSON

MovieScore Media presents its latest documentary release with Patrick Jonsson’s score for the multiple-award winning exposé Frame by Frame. Directed by Alexandria Bombach, Mo Scarpelli, the film shares the story of four photojournalists who started their independent work following the 2001 fell of the Taliban. Since even taking a photo was a crime during the old regime, the photographers had a lot to document – but their livelihood is facing new dangers with the withdrawal of the American troops. Presented through cinema vérité with candid interviews and never-before-seen footage from the Taliban years, Frame by Frame swept the documentary festival scene with dozens of wins and nominations, including both the Audience and the Spirit Award of the Brooklyn Film Festival.

“I was incredibly inspired by the directors’ vision of showing a different side of Afghanistan than we tend to see in Western media, conveyed through the fearless work of four local photojournalists” recalls Jonsson about the project. “It’s a really beautiful country, despite its turbulent past and uncertain future, so I wanted an instrumental line up that would reflect this delicate balance. We decided early on to use a trio of strings and piano to create an intimate sound that could capture the beauty and fragility of the situation in Afghanistan, as well as the struggles and empathy of the four photojournalists we follow.

Composer Patrick Jonsson graduated from the Berklee College of Music in Boston and was selected to attend the Berlinale Talent Campus in 2009. In 2013 he scored Flora Lau’s Bends, which premiered at the Cannes Film Festival as part of ‘Un Certain Regard’ and received a nomination for ‘Best Original Film Score’ at the Taipei Golden Horse Awards. Since then, Patrick has also proved himself to be confident at documentary scoring with titles like the Academy Award and BAFTA nominated Virunga about the preservation of mountain gorillas. His contributions as an assistant can be heard in major studio features like Thor, Brave or Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

View in iTunes


1 Frame by Frame 2:01
2 Aina 1:19
3 Jamila 2:57
4 Identity 1:22
5 Wakil’s Past 1:38
6 Lighting Up Dark Corners 2:29
7 The Hardest Time 2:38
8 Farzana 1:47
9 A Photo Will Lead to Change 1:10
10 A Feeling 1:22
11 The World is One Body 2:17
12 Burn Ward 2:09
13 Ashura 2011 3:10
14 An Untouched Reality 3:05
15 Without a Voice 1:27
16 Empathy 2:03