Featuring Original Performances by Billy Crudup, Rudderless (featuring Ben Kweller and the film’s Anton Yelchin and Billy Crudup), Selena Gomez, and Ben Limpic

Lakeshore Records will release the RUDDERLESS – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on September 30th and on CD October 28, 2014.  The album features songs performed by the film’s Billy Crudup, Selena Gomez, and the ‘band’ Rudderless (featuring Billy Crudup, Anton Yelchin, and Ben Kweller).  Original score is by Eef Barzelay (the band Clem Snide).

“One of the major characters in the film is the music,” said the film’s director William H. Macy.  “Josh’s songs are all Sam has left of his son, and as the script developed, six of those songs became set pieces in the film. I knew that if those songs weren’t good, the film would never recover.  Simon Steadman and Charlton Pettus wrote the songs ”Home” and “Real Friends,” among others, to give Josh his voice.”

In William H. Macy’s moving directorial debut RUDDERLESS, Billy Crudup plays Sam, a former high-profile advertising executive whose life is torn apart by the sudden death of his son. Living off the grid on a docked sailboat, he wastes away his days while drowning his pain in alcohol. When Sam discovers a box filled with his son’s demo tapes and lyrics, his own child’s musical talent is a revelation for him, a grieving father yearning to reconnect with his son. He begins to explore his son’s unknown talent, obsessively learning his songs, until one day he decides to play one of them at a local bar. The song captivates Quentin, a young musician (Anton Yelchin) in the audience, and the two unlikely friends decide to form a rock ‘n’ roll band called Rudderless that becomes surprisingly popular and revitalizes both of their lives.

Crudup, who gives a searing performance, leads an exemplary cast that includes Anton Yelchin as Quentin, Selena Gomez, Laurence Fishburne and Felicity Huffman. With RUDDERLESS, William H. Macy has gifted us with a poignant and inspirational musical drama about the power of love, forgiveness and redemption. RUDDERLESS had its world-premiere at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival, where it was the closing night film.


01. Home – Billy Crudup
02. Over Your Shoulder – Rudderless
03. Hold On – Ben Kweller and Selena Gomez
04. Sam Spirals – Eef Barzelay
05. Beautiful Mess – Rudderless
06. Stay With You – Rudderless
07. The Two-Year Hangover – Eef Barzelay
08. Real Friends – Rudderless
09. Asshole – Ben Limpic
10. Some Things Can’t Be Thrown Away – Eef Barzelay
11. Wheels On The Bus – Rudderless
12. A Day On The Water – Eef Barzelay
13. The Gig Is Off – Eef Barzelay
14. Sing Along – Billy Crudup