Music Composed by FRANK ILFMAN

Coinciding with the film’s release to UK cinemas on May 31, MovieScore Media once again teams up with composer Frank Ilfman (Big Bad WolvesSensoria) to release the emotionally-charged music, Celtic-flavoured orchestral score for Rory’s Way. Based on Jose Luis Sampedro’s novel The Etruscan SmileRory’s Way stars acclaimed British actor Brian Cox as Rory MacNeil, a rugged old Scotsman who reluctantly leaves his beloved isolated Hebridean island and travels to San Francisco to seek medical treatment. Moving in with his estranged son, Rory sees his life transformed through a newly found bond with his baby grandson.

Frank Ilfman originally studied trombone and piano at the Jaffa Conservatorium of Music, then at the age of thirteen he was joined the Tel Aviv Dixieland Band where he played lead trombone in addition to arranging for them. His passion for film music was ignited when a visit to Bavaria Studios got him introduced to German composer Klaus Doldinger, who was scoring The Neverending Story at that time. Since starting out, Frank had scored over sixty films and television projects. His breakthrough was written for Big Bad Wolves whose music won a Saturn Award shortly after being issued by MovieScore Media. Some of Ilfman’s other recent credits include the monster movie Abulele, the supernatural thriller Sensoria (also available from ScreamWorks Records) and the new logo of Legendary Pictures.

Rory’s Way is a very emotional and heartfelt story with a strong Celtic identity,” explains Frank Ilfman about his contributions to the picture. “The music is very melodic in its core, using a large orchestra comprise of strings, winds, percussion and some Celtic instruments to represent Rory’s heritage. I composed three themes that represent Rory’s character, his son and Rory’s relationship with his grandson always keeping central the strong emotions between the three generations.”

Release date (digital): May 31, 2019
CD coming soon from KRONOS RECORDS


1 Opening 1:18
2 Rory’s Theme 3:56
3 Going to America 2:04
4 Who Will Die First 2:07
5 The Statue 3:49
6 The Museum 3:12
7 Gazing at the Stars 3:14
8 I Will Not Be There 1:40
9 Love Theme 2:25
10 Rory and Claudia 1:35
11 It’s Not the Time 1:17
12 The Secret Garden 1:44
13 Just Look With Your Eyes 2:23
14 By the Sea 6:06
15 Your All Bum and Parsley 1:44
16 The Etruscan Smile (Suite from “Rory’s Way”) 7:16