Featuring Original Music by Composers Lisa Gerrard and Marcello De Francisci

Varèse Sarabande will release the JANE GOT A GUN – Official Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on January 29, 2016. The album features original music by composers Lisa Gerrard (WHALE RIDER, GLADIATOR) and Marcello De Francisci (SAMSARA).

“The soundtrack score to this film is what you would call a Hollywood western with what we hope is a completely ‘fresh and  new’ approach,” said De Francisci.

Jane Got a Gun centers on Jane Hammond (Natalie Portman), who has built a new life with her husband Bill “Ham” Hammond (Noah Emmerich) after being tormented by the ultra-violent Bishop Boys outlaw gang. She finds herself in the gang’s crosshairs once again when Ham stumbles home riddled with bullets after dueling with the Boys and their relentless mastermind Colin (Ewan McGregor). With the vengeful crew hot on Ham’s trail, Jane has nowhere to turn but to her former fiancé Dan Frost (Joel Edgerton) for help in defending her family against certain destruction. Haunted by old memories, Jane’s past meets the present in a heart-stopping battle for survival.

“Director Gavin O’Connor was looking to find a very signature score to this film while shying away from what is considered the conventional western soundtrack,” said De Francisci.   “We naturally gravitated to recording a lot of live instruments and editing performances to the point that at times would cross into the realm of sound design. Other areas demanded a quite lyrical approach and of course Lisa’s voice was an element that was used to represent the spirit of the heroin in the story.”

With a vision and vocal style that is as unique as it is precise and all – embracing, Lisa Gerrard has established herself as one of the world’s most highly acclaimed film composers. Her musical journey began in the early 1980s when she and fellow Australian Brendan Perry formed duo Dead Can Dance, one of the world’s most original bands, which has never conformed to a manufactured genre or predefined pigeonhole.

Several solo and collaborative albums were well received following Dead Can Dance and Lisa made a natural progression to composing for films. She was instantly successful, winning a Golden Globe® for her work on Gladiator with Hans Zimmer. This was followed by Golden Globe nominations for her scores to Ali and The Insider. Lisa’s film work has also included Whale Rider. In 2009, Lisa scored the highly acclaimed film Balibo. In 2010, Lisa finished her score for Oranges and Sunshine and Tears of Gaza.  In 2011, Lisa completed the score for Burning Man.

Marcello De Francisci is an American composer with an Italian-Argentinean background. In 1993 he decided to go to Los Angeles to pursue a career as a film composer. In 1994 he join what was then known as Media Ventures – a Santa Monica based facility owned by world renowned film composer Hans Zimmer. In 2006 he won the best soundtrack of the year G.A.N.G. ward for his work on SCEA’s God of War game. Two years later he partnered up with Golden Globe winner and Academy Award® nominee singer/composer Lisa Gerrard.  This relationship opened doors that provided him the opportunity to co-create and produce an album with Lisa titled ‘Departum’.  He was invited to work on multiple film projects like Balibo, Oranges & Sunshine, Burning Man, Insight, Tears of Gaza, and Samsara the anticipated sequel to the renowned film Baraka.

The Weinstein Company presents Jane got a Gun in theaters on January 29, 2016. Varèse Sarabande will release the JANE GOT A GUN – Official Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally the same day.


1. Bedtime Story
2. Ham Falls
3. Katie Safe
4. Garrote
5. Jane Meets Bishop
6. Fitchum
7. Dan & Jane Flee Town
8. Cattails
9. Dan Watches Jane
10. Dan at Bishops
11. The Help I Mentioned
12. Crow, Bishop Gang
13. Balloon Ride
14. Montage
15. Slow Jeremiah
16. Dan on the Ridge
17. Hams Wants Jane
18. Jane’s Story
19. Brothel
20. Hear Something
21. Siege
22. Jane Shot Vic Standoff
23. Let’s Go See Jane
24. Jane Goes West