Lakeshore Records will release the DOLPHIN TALE 2 – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack album digitally on September 9th and on CD October 7, 2014.  The album features original score by Rachel Portman (BELLE, CHOCOLAT).

“The film is a wonderful canvas for music because there are so many gorgeous underwater scenes,” said Portman.

Rachel Portman was born in west Sussex, England. She began composing at the age of 14 and read music at Oxford University. Whilst there, she became interested in writing music for student films and theatre productions. She gained experience writing music for drama in BBC and Channel 4 films such as ORANGES ARE NOT THE ONLY FRUIT, Mike Leigh’s FOUR DAYS IN JULY and Jim Henson’s STORYTELLER series, however the majority of her work has been in film.

Rachel won an Academy Award® for her score for EMMA and Academy nominations for CHOCOLAT and THE CIDER HOUSE RULES. She has been fortunate to work with directors Roman Polanski (OLIVER TWIST), Norman Jewison (ONLY YOU), Jonathan Demme (BELOVED, TRUTH ABOUT CHARLIE, MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE), Robert Redford (LEGEND OF BAGGER VANCE), Mike Leigh (LIFE IS SWEET), as well as countless others. Her list of film scores includes BELLE, THE RIGHT KIND OF WRONG, NEVER LET ME GO, SNOW FLOWER AND THE SECRET FAN, GREY GARDENS (HBO), THE DUCHESS, INFAMOUS, LAKE HOUSE, HART’S WAR, HUMAN STAIN, MARVIN’S ROOM, BENNY AND JOON, JOY LUCK CLUB, SMOKE, NICHOLAS NICKLEBY and WHERE ANGELS FEAR TO TREAD.

She has written a musical of LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE as well as an opera of Saint Exupery’s THE LITTLE PRINCE for Houston Grand Opera and THE WATER DIVINER, a dramatic choral symphony commissioned for the BBC Proms concerts. She was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2010 New Year Honours. Rachel lives in London with her three daughters.

DOLPHIN TALE 2 continues the story of the brave dolphin Winter, whose miraculous rescue and recovery—thanks to a groundbreaking prosthetic tail—made her a symbol of hope and perseverance to people around the world and inspired the 2011 family hit movie DOLPHIN TALE.

The film reunites the entire main cast, led by Harry Connick, Jr., Oscar® winner Morgan Freeman (MILLION DOLLAR BABY) Ashley Judd, Kris Kristofferson, Nathan Gamble, Cozi Zuehlsdorff, Austin Stowell, and, of course, the remarkable dolphin Winter as herself. Charles Martin Smith, who directed DOLPHIN TALE, wrote the sequel and is again at the helm.
“Charles [Martin Smith, Director] was keen for the music to have strong melodies that could be threaded through the story,” Portman described.  “My first task was to come up with a theme for Winter. She has her own high flute melodic phrase which comes back several times through the course of the movie. It needed to be emotional and watery as well as easily identifiable with her.”
Warner Bros. Pictures and Alcon Entertainment present DOLPHIN TALE 2 in theaters September 12, 2014.  The DOLPHIN TALE 2 – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack album will be available digitally on September 9th and on CD October 7, 2014.
1. Reconciliation Ballet
2. Mandy’s Release
3. Hazel’s Welcome Video/Rufus Steals a Bear
4. Sawyer is Offered Sea Semester
5. Mandy’s Rescue
6. Mandy’s Charts
7. Hazel Put In Charge/ Mavis’s MRI
8. Morning Show/Mavis’s Release
9. McCarthy’s Watch Lesson
10. The Watch Starts Ticking/Veteran Sees Winter
11. Bethany Swims With Winter/Crow’s Nest/ Everything’s Ok Now
12. Like She Always Was/Media Circus
13. Hope’s Arrival
14. 1st Pairing
15. Putting On Tail
16. 2nd Pairing
17. They’re Accepting!
18. I’ll Come Back/Hazel On the Roof
19. When One Door Closes