Hans Zimmer, Alexandre Desplat, Johann Johannsson, Patrick Doyle and John Legend are some of the popular names among the first nominees released by the World Soundtrack Academy. The first nominees announced will be competing in the categories for Film Composer of the Year, Best Original Score of the Year and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. The 15th World Soundtrack Awards will be the closing event of Film Fest Gent on 24 October 2015 in Ghent.

The World Soundtrack Academy aims at supporting film music, sound design, composers and their worldwide promotion. In fifteen years time, the membership of the WSAcademy grew into a group of 370 international film (music) professionals deciding on the nominees for the annual World Soundtrack Awards through several rounds of voting. Besides these first nominees, the Academy will also select five nominees for the Discovery of the Year 2015 by the end of August. Finally the public can also nominate their favorite score by voting for the Public Choice Award on the website until 5 September 2015.

The nominees are:

Film Composer of the Year

Bruno Coulais | ‘Song of the Sea’, ‘Gemma Bovary’, ‘3 hearts’ (‘3 Coeurs’), ‘Mune le guardien de la lune’, ‘Diary of a Chambermaid’ (‘Journal d’une femme de chambre’), ‘Fly Away Solo’

Alexandre Desplat | ‘Unbroken’, ‘The Imitation Game’, ‘Everything Will Be Fine’, ‘Tale of Tales’

Michael Giacchino | ‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’, ‘Inside Out’, ‘Jupiter Ascending’, ‘Jurassic World’, ‘Tomorrowland’

Johann Johannsson | ‘The Theory of Everything’, ‘The 11th Hour’, ‘Sicario’

Hans Zimmer | ‘Interstellar’, ‘Chappie’


Best Original Film Score Of The Year

‘Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)’ by Antonio Sanchez

‘Cinderella’ by Patrick Doyle

‘The Imitation Game‘ by Alexandre Desplat

‘Interstellar’ by Hans Zimmer

‘The Theory of Everything’ by Johann Johannsson


Best Original Song Written For A Film

The Apology Song from ‘The Book of Life’
Music by Gustavo Santaolalla, lyrics by Paul Williams, performed by Diego Luna

Carry Me Home from ‘Insurgent’
Music & lyrics by Joseph Trapanese & Christopher Taylor, performed by SOHN

Glory from ‘Selma’
Music & lyrics by John Legend, Common and Rhymefest performed by Common & Legend

Grateful from ‘Beyond the Lights’
Music & lyrics by Diane Warren, performed by Rita Ora

Tell Me from ‘Lost River’
Music & lyrics by Johnny Jewel, performed by Saoirse Ronan




Vote for the Public Choice Award 2015

Vote for YOUR favourite score of the year through this link and maybe you’ll receive one of the 10 suprise gift bags, one of which contains two tickets for the 15th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards on October 24th 2015. 


The Public Choice Award for best score will be awarded by the public during the 15th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards. In 2001 Film Fest Gent founded the World Soundtrack Awards, the most prestigious film music awards in the world. Each year the best contemporary soundtrack composers are recognised for their work. Because of this focus on film music, the festival soon became an annual meeting place for both internationally renowned and up and coming musical talents. The Public Choice Award will be one of the prizes given to the most popular soundtrack of a movie released in theatres between 1 July 2014 and 30 June 2015. 


The World Soundtrack Awards will celebrate its 15th anniversary with one of the most brilliant film composers of his generation, Alan Silvestri, known for his scores of ‘Back to the Future’, ‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’ and ‘Forrest Gump’. Film Fest Gent will also be recording an album with the scores of Silvestri on 19 – 20 – 21 August at Flagey Studios in cooperation with Galaxy Studios in Brussels, conducted by Music Director Dirk Brossé and performed by Brussels Philharmonic & Flemish Radio Choir.

Following Film Fest Gent’s focus on British cinema this year, the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to composer Patrick Doyle at the World Soundtrack Awards. In addition to Doyle’s oeuvre and in line with tradition, Discovery 2014 Daniel Pemberton will also be performing that evening.

The 15th World Soundtrack Awards & Concert will take place on 24 October 2015 at Kuipke in Ghent.

Tickets are available here.

You can listen to the WSAwards playlist and much more on the Spotify account of Film Fest Gent.