Original Music Composed by DAVID WINGO

Lakeshore Records announces the release of The Report—Original Motion Picture Soundtrack which is now available digitally. Composed by Emmy-nominated David Wingo (Barry, Midnight Special), the score is redolent with atmospheric electronics providing a subtly intense backdrop to the thriller. The Amazon Original, directed by Scott Z. Burns and starring Adam Driver, Annette Bening and Jon Hamm, is in select theaters today, November 15 and streaming on Amazon Prime Video November 29.  The Report is a riveting thriller based on actual events. Idealistic staffer Daniel J. Jones (Adam Driver) is tasked by his boss Senator Dianne Feinstein (Annette Bening) to lead an investigation of the CIA’s Detention and Interrogation Program, which was created in the aftermath of 9/11. Jones’ relentless pursuit of the truth leads to explosive findings that uncover the lengths to which the nation’s top intelligence agency went to destroy evidence, subvert the law, and hide a brutal secret from the American public. The Report is written and directed by Scott Z. Burns and features outstanding performances by a powerful cast led by Adam Driver, Annette Bening, and Jon Hamm. Sarah Goldberg, Michael C. Hall, Douglas Hodge, Fajer Kaisi, Ted Levine, Jennifer Morrison, Tim Blake Nelson, Linda Powell, Matthew Rhys, T. Ryder Smith, Corey Stoll, and Maura Tierney complete the powerful ensemble that brings this essential story to life.  Says Wingo: “In some ways, I feel like I’d been preparing my whole career to do the score for The Report. I’ve always been so drawn to the kind of tightly-wound investigative thrillers like All the President’s Men and The Conversation, which this film feels like a descendant of, and the way David Shire’s scores create an atmosphere of such claustrophobia, anxiety and nervous anticipation over what are essentially scenes of people talking and exchanging information, has always been such a subtly impressive and inspiring feat to me. Along with that, Cliff Martinez’s work on Steven Soderbergh’s films, including of course Contagion (which Scott Z. Burns wrote), have always provided a real guiding light for me in terms of his approach to composing non-traditional film music for these same kinds of intelligent, tightly-wound films. So, when I got the call about The Report and learned what the subject matter was, who was behind it, and saw a cut of the film – I really did feel like all the work I’d done led me to this point where hopefully, I had learned enough to be able to adequately write the kind of score for the type of film that has always been so important and inspiring to me both as a composer as well as a film-lover. I am endlessly thankful to Scott and the team for trusting me to provide the music for such an important and timely film as this. Having the opportunity to work on it with them was most certainly a creative and career highlight up to this point for me.”

ABOUT DAVID WINGODavid Wingo got his start composing music for films on David Gordon Green’s award-winning debut 2000 feature George Washington and since that time he has worked with Green on many his films, including collaborations with the band Explosions in the Sky on “Prince Avalanche” and “Manglehorn.” In 2010, he scored Jeff Nichols’ Cannes Grand Prix Award-winning feature Take Shelter, and has since scored all of Nichols’ films, including MudMidnight Special, and the critically-acclaimed Loving. 2018 saw Wingo moving into television, providing the score for both Showtime’s Kidding and HBO’s Emmy Award-winning Barry, for which he received an Emmy Nomination in 2019 for “Outstanding Music Composition for a Series.” His most recent film, the Steven Soderbergh produced, Scott Z. Burns directed feature The Report, premiered at Sundance 2019 to wide acclaim and was theatrically released by Amazon Studios on November 15, 2019. 



1. I Think I Should Start At The Beginning (2:23)
2. Dan Comes To DC, Pt. 1 (0:50)
3. Dan Comes To DC, Pt. 2 (0:24)
4. Dan Comes To DC, Pt. 3 (0:25)
5. The Rules (1:39)
6. Dan Gets To Work (0:50)
7. Real Work Begins (0:36)
8. Travelling to NYC (0:23)
9. Torture (1:03)
10. Dr. Nathan (1:34)
11. Dr. Nathan Return (0:49)
12. Gul Rahman (0:51)
13. Panetta Discovery (0:50)
14. Good Morning (1:11)
15. Worry About Changing The World Later (0:39)
16. DOJ (0:47)
17. First Dead End (0:34)
18. Thanksgiving (1:13)
19. Whiteboard (1:15)
20. Rahim (1:00)
21. At Least (0:36)
22. Committee Vote (1:01)
23. We Knew It Wouldn’t Be Easy (1:01)
24. Their Side Of The Story (3:24)
25. New Dead End (1:03)
26. Panetta Review (2:00)
27. Breaking In (1:08)
28. Gonna Need A Lawyer (0:38)
29. Sunlight Problem (1:41)
30. Brennan Goes Public (0:24)
31. IG Is Here (0:22)
32. You’ll Have The Pen (0:57)
33. Strong Pills (2:46)
34. Election Night (0:35)
35. Last Stand (1:21)
36. Faith In The System (0:58)
37. Dan Walks Away (3:33)