Featuring Original Music by David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia

Lakeshore Records released the THE MOTEL LIFE – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, available digitally and via Amazon on Demand on March 25th, and on CD April 22, 2014.  The album features original music by David Holmes (OCEAN’S ELEVEN, DIANA) and Keefus Ciancia (NASHVILLE, TRUE DETECTIVE), with songs by The Kills, Little Hurricane, Justin Townes Earle, Jonathan Clay and Townes Van Zandt.

In adapting the novel by Willy Vlautin for the big screen, the film’s co-director Alan Polsky described, that he and co-director Gabe Polsky “wanted to deliver on the book’s honest portrayal of Reno and the difficult situation the brothers encountered while enhancing the underlying fairy tale feeling at the core of the story.  We thought the music was one of the best ways to bring this to the surface.”

Alan and Gabe Polsky selected songs to help create this atmosphere, many of which appear on the soundtrack album, and turned to composers David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia for original music.  “David and Keefus immediately responded to the tone of the film and the types of songs we were looking at to combine with the score.  We felt a strong connection with them,” said Alan.  “They were totally on board with creating a score that was void of the classic melodromatic elements that you find in many indie films. We wanted something that had the emotional weight that the story deserved yet didn’t feel like we were forcing the audience’s hand.”

THE MOTEL LIFE is a searing and profound examination of brotherhood set in the timeless Sierra Nevadan frontier. Frank (Emile Hirsch, INTO THE WILD) and Jerry Lee (Stephen Dorff, SOMEWHERE) are brothers who get by on telling fantastic stories and creating rich illustrations. When Jerry Lee is involved in a hit-and-run accident, the brothers are forced across the state to the home of Frank’s old flame, Annie (Dakota Fanning, the TWILIGHT saga). While they seem safe from the law, Jerry Lee’s instability and all-consuming guilt render their future increasingly uncertain. “Through a miracle of tone, mood, and emotion, THE MOTEL LIFE adds up to a heartbreaking whole.” (Sheila O’Malley, Rogerebert.com)

Brothers Gabe and Alan Polsky produced and co-directed THE MOTEL LIFE, starring Emile Hirsch, Dakota Fanning, and Stephen Dorff. The film won four awards at the 2012 Rome Film Festival, including the prestigious Audience Award.

The brothers’ producing credits include Werner Herzog’s BAD LIEUTENANT: PORT OF CALL NEW ORLEANS, which was named in over 40 top-ten lists of the Best Films in 2009; HIS WAY, an Emmy-nominated documentary released by HBO in 2011; and LITTLE BIRDS, which was named among the top ten independent films of 2012 by the National Board of Review.

Notable projects in development include critically acclaimed novels Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes, to be produced at Sony as a starring vehicle for Will Smith; The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov; Butcher’s Crossing, based on the novel by John Williams; and National Book Award winning Going After Cacciato by Tim O’Brien. Gabe and Alan have also secured the life rights to Albert Einstein as well as to surfing legend Dorian “Doc” Paskowitz and his family.

Keefus Ciancia’s film composing began working with T Bone Burnett.  Early work with Burnett included THE LADYKILLERS (Coen Brothers), DON’T COME KNOCKIN’ (Wim Wenders), and WALK THE LINE (Johnny Cash Docudrama).  Recently Ciancia was the co-composer (with Burnett) for NASHVILLE (Season 1), and TRUE DETECTIVE (HBO).

Since 2010 collaborations with David Holmes include THE FALL (BBC Series), GOOD VIBRATIONS, DIANA and with their newly formed band Unloved, THE RANDOM ADVENTURES OF BRANDON GENERATOR, an Edgar Wright production.  Keefus Ciancia produced albums for Nikka Costa, Cassandra Wilson, Benji Hughes, Everlast, Kimbra, MeShell Ndegeocello, A Fine Frenzy, and Priscilla Ahn.

David Holmes is a Belfast born DJ & producer. In his varied professional life, he has produced five of his own albums and 22 film soundtracks. David’s most recent album ‘The Dogs Are Parading’, a ‘best of’ that takes you on a journey through one of the most creative and musically cinematic minds of the last two decades.

In recent years, David’s work for film has flourished. His successful partnership with director Steven Soderbergh was developed on films OUT OF SIGHT (1998) & OCEAN’S 11 (2001), and this has continued through sequels OCEAN’S 12, 13 and HAYWIRE. David also worked to create the acclaimed soundtrack evoking the dystopian near-future world of Michael Winterbottom’s CODE 46.

In 2006, with lifelong partners Lisa Barros D’Sa and Glenn Leyburn, David founded Canderblinks Films They recently produced the BAFTA nominated film GOOD VIBRATIONS, the story of Terri Hooley, Belfast’s punk godfather and the Good Vibrations Record Shop, set in the heart of the punk rock scene of 1970s Belfast. David has in recent years also scored the award winning titles HUNGER, 5 MINUTES OF HEAVEN.

David and Keefus Ciancia have recently scored the BBC series THE FALL starring Gillian Anderson, which was nominated for an RTS Craft & Design Award in 2013 and the IFTAS. He recently scored the critically acclaimed  ’71 which debuted in Berlin earlier this year and is collaborating with Mark cousins on his latest film I AM BELFAST.

David Holmes’ new project is UNLOVED, a collaboration with Keefus Ciancia and Jade Vincent. Taking inspiration from classic Disney films, Raymond Scott, the Shangri Las, the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and Jack Nitzsche to name but a few, Appropriately, the music of UNLOVED made its debut on Edgar Wright’s BRANDON GENERATOR, an interactive animation in four episodes featuring the voice of Julian Barratt (THE MIGHTY BOOSH).


01. Fighter Pilots – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia feat. Stephen Dorff and Emile Hirsch
02. Fit To Be Tied – Jonathan Clay
03. Mother’s Message – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
04. Roll ‘Em Dice – Buddy Stuart
05. Jerry Shoots Himself – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
06. Frank Runs To Hospital – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
07. Oil Can – Joe D’Augustine
08. Frank Reads Postcards – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
09. Denny’s House – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
10. Reprise to Childhood – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
11. They Killed John Henry – Justin Townes Earle
12. Frank Packs Drawings – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
13. Leaving the Motel – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
14. Mr. Mudd And Mr. Gold – Townes Van Zandt
15. Leaving Town – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
16. Pirate Story – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
17. Give ‘Em Hell – Little Hurricane
18. Reverse Harmonics – Joe D’Augustine
19. Dark Horse – The Long Wives
20. Annie and Frank Walk – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
21. Shower – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
22. Tell Me a Story – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
23. Frank Meets Annie – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
24. Wait – The Kills
25. Frank Rejects Annie – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
26. Jerry Dies – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
27. Aftermath – David Holmes and Keefus Ciancia
28. The Boyfriends – Richmond Fontaine

Via Cinemedia Promotions and Lakeshore Records