MovieScore Media’s latest documentary release, the minimalism-influenced score to THE KING OF NERAC, directed by Annie Sulzberger and Guy Natanel, is a biography of David Breuer-Weil, the reclusive artist who went into self-imposed exile much like a modern day Gauguin. Both a successful art dealer and artist, Breuer-Weil creates giant apocalyptic canvasses and colossal sculptures and installments that dominate public squares everywhere from London to Jerusalem. Dubbed by The Times of London as ‘one of Britain’s most powerful and original contemporary artists’, THE KING OF NERAC draws a fascinating portrait of a mysterious artist who is well-worth discovering.

Composer Michael Csányi-Wills is a veteran of film music; between 1997 and 2012  he collaborated with Nigel Clarke on several scores, including Warner Brothers’ The Little Vampire, The Little Polar Bear and The Thief Lord. Apart from The King of Nerac, his most recent solo credits include the Paavo Järvi documentaryMaestro as well as the short film A Love Story in Milk for which he won the Best Score Award at the Movie Maverick Awards. Besides his career in film scoring, Michael was recently appointed composer in residence of the Welsh Sinfonia and still regularly performs as a pianist.

”When first approaching the music for this film, I focused on David Breuer-Weil’s extraordinary and imaginary world of Nerac. This is a world which is made up of hundreds of artists, all of whom survive for only as long as his pencil lasts.  His images made me think of medieval Indonesia and the Temple at Borobudor in Central Java. I began to assemble the musical instruments that, for me, represent that world; i.e Gamelan, Gongs, and Angklungs, and wrote motifs and harmonies that brought this imaginary world into a form of reality without representing it literally. I chose the Cor Anglais to unite all these sounds, and to create a type of angular lyricism to represent the world of Nerac.”
Release date (digital): June 9, 2015

View in iTunes


1 Neracian Dances 3:02
2 Ant’s Nest 2:59
3 A Medieval Apocalypse 2:10
4 Gauguin’s Escape 2:44
5 Cambridge 4:50
6 The Dream of Two Beings in One 2:27
7 Leaving for Denmark 2:52
8 Forest of Nerac 2:42
9 Flying in the Sky 3:21
10 22 Artists of the Neracian School 2:54
11 A Thin Veneer 2:25
12 Still in the Garden of Eden 2:03
13 A Moment of Peace 1:29
14 Sleeping Next to a Mountain 4:07
15 Murder on the Lake 1:55
16 Culmination of Minds 2:39
17 Neracian Dances (Refrain) 3:02