Featuring Original Music by Composer Germaine Franco

Lakeshore Records announced today the upcoming release of the soundtrack to New Line Cinema’s summer comedy, TAG, which features an original score written and produced by composer Germaine Franco (Coco).  The album will be released digitally on June 15th – the same date the film premieres in theaters in the US.

“Scoring TAG was a collaborative and exciting experience,” says Franco. “When I first saw the film, I couldn’t stop laughing. I loved what Jeff Tosmic had done with the film. Working with him was a very synergistic experience. Jeff had specific ideas about the themes for the film. He wanted to build a theme that had elements of a caper theme that could also be transformed into a friendship theme. In addition, we created a mission theme, to show how much the characters were quite serious about the game of tag. I truly enjoyed working with Erin Scully and Kim Baum from New Line Cinema. Their creative vision guided the direction of the score as well.”
For one month every year, five highly competitive friends hit the ground running in a no-holds-barred game of tag they’ve been playing since the first grade—risking their necks, their jobs and their relationships to take each other down with the battle cry: “You’re It!” This year, the game coincides with the wedding of their only undefeated player, which should finally make him an easy target. But he knows they’re coming…and he’s ready.
Based on a true story, the New Line Cinema comedy TAG shows how far some guys will go to be the last man standing. TAG is directed by Jeff Tomsic (Comedy Central’s “Broad City”), with a starring ensemble cast led by Ed Helms (The “Hangover” movies, “We’re the Millers”), Jake Johnson (TV’s “New Girl”), Annabelle Wallis (“The Mummy”), Rashida Jones (TV’s “Parks and Recreation”), Isla Fisher (“Now You See Me”), Leslie Bibb (“Iron Man 2”), Hannibal Buress (“Neighbors”), with Jon Hamm (“Baby Driver,” TV’s “Mad Men”) and Oscar nominee Jeremy Renner (“The Hurt Locker, “The Town”).
Germaine continues, “Listeners can expect some big action sequences with some bombastic low brass and percussion which denote the seriousness and intensity of the Tag team’s dedication and the persistence that the Tag players bring to the game.  Also, there are multiple comedic sequences featuring a caper theme. During these scenes, Jeff wanted a cool and sometimes nefarious and sound. Because Jeff liked electronica elements, I combined a live rhythm section, featuring Alex Al, the bassist (Beyoncé, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder), Jeff Chamberlain, drummer (Pearl Jam), Luis Conte, percussionist (James Taylor), and Andrew Synoweic, drummer (Michael Bublé, Shakira), with electronica, live orchestra, and choir.”
1. Not It (1:19)
2. Fraid Not Bob Fraid Not Bob (0:45)
3. Three Days Left In May (1:13)
4. Trojan Janitor (0:48)
5. He’s Loose! (0:39)
6. Welcome Home Boys (0:41)
7. No Contact Protocol (1:25)
8. Cheryl Deakins (1:54)
9. Car Nap (0:27)
10. Nice Attention to Detail (1:41)
11. Mr. Stubbles (1:16)
12. Seatbelts On (0:48)
13. Roundhouse (1:11)
14. Now Or Never (1:11)
15. Golf Cart Down (1:31)
16. Typical Woods Stuff (1:23)
17. Vansition (0:49)
18. Two Thousand Dollars (1:11)
19. Higher Power Lockdown (0:51)
20. Jerry’s Fitness (2:00)
21. Complimentary Donuts (2:46)
22. You Officially Suck (2:15)
23. Doves Loophole (1:07)