Music Composed and Conducted by DAVID STONE HAMILTON

MovieScore Media’s latest discovery takes listeners on an unexpected journey to outer space with a thematically rich, symphonic score by up and coming composer David Stone Hamilton. Written and directed by Carl Strathie, Solis is a suspenseful space bound story contemplating the dangers mankind is willing to take in the name of exploration. Although its genre is technically a thriller, it also has a very human story to it, as Troy Holloway (Steven Ogg), through the help of his rescuer Commander Roberts (Alice Lowe), comes to terms with a loss in his past – the death of a loved one – and the subsequent isolation from his family that it caused.

Solis is a survival space thriller, with the main character in a race against time to meet his rescuer,” explains composer David Stone Hamilton about the score. “We wanted to create a score that would reflect the increasing tension and impending doom with a musical “ticking time bomb” employed in different ways. Sometimes it’s literally a ticking clock, and other times we use modernist percussion effects or col legno strings to give this effect. Our Solar theme represents the grandeur and almost hypnotic allure of the Sun as well as the existential threat it poses to our protagonist. Another prominent theme was the rising half step or minor second interval, which is a nod to John Williams’ brilliant Jaws score to create the inherent tension with this dissonant interval. We also reserved some moments for a Korean instrument named the Haegeum, which has a truly otherworldly sound to it.”

Emerging L.A.-based composer David Stone Hamilton has already shown his diversity in film scoring through projects like the horror Gremlin, the family adventure The Adventures of Jurassic Pet and the (unrelated) dinosaur-themed action film Jurassic Games.  His upcoming projects include Carl Strathie’s Dark Encounter and Scott Sloane’s Malibu Horror Story.

Release date (digital): June 14, 2019
CD coming soon from Perseverance Records


1 Debris 1:12
2 Main Title 5:48
3 Coolant Chamber 3:15
4 We Had a Son 2:55
5 Cauterization 3:52
6 Memories 3:33
7 Best Odds I’ve Had All Day 3:36
8 A Solis Triptych: 1. Death 10:25
9 A Solis Triptych: 2. Space Walk 10:48
10 A Solis Triptych: 3. Finale 11:51
11 Let Me Save You 5:36
12 End Credits 3:30