Featuring Original Music Composed By Mark Mothersbaugh
And The Song “New York” Performed by Pee-wee Herman

Varèse Sarabande will release the PEE-WEE’S BIG HOLIDAY – Original Soundtrack digitally on April 8 and on CD May 6, 2016. The album features the score from the Netflix Original Film PEE-WEE’S BIG HOLIDAY composed by Mark Mothersbaugh (THE LEGO MOVIE, PEE-WEE’S PLAYHOUSE), which includes the song “New York,” performed by Pee-wee Herman.

Mark Mothersbaugh is one of this era’s most unique and prolific composers, composing the music for more than 125 film and TV show properties.  Deeply aware of the ability of precise, multi-faceted artistic expression to deliver vital social commentary, he has perpetually challenged and redefined musical and visual boundaries. Mothersbaugh co-founded influential rock group DEVO, and then parlayed his avant-garde musical background into a leading role in the world of scoring for filmed and animated entertainment, interactive media and commercials. This part of his career began with his work on PEE-WEE’S PLAYHOUSE.

PEE-WEE’S BIG HOLIDAY stars the beloved fun-loving hero of TV, stage and film, Pee-wee Herman. A fateful meeting with a mysterious stranger inspires Pee-wee to take his first-ever holiday in an epic story of friendship and destiny. The film also stars Joe Manganiello (TRUE BLOOD, MAGIC MIKE XXL), Jessica Pohly (STALKER), Alia Shawkat (ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT) and Stephanie Beatriz (BROOKLYN NINE-NINE). Paul Reubens and Paul Rust (LOVE, ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT) wrote the screenplay. PEE-WEE’S BIG HOLIDAY was produced by Paul Reubens and Judd Apatow (TRAINWRECK, BRIDESMAIDS).  The film was directed by John Lee (WONDER SHOWZEN).

Mark Mothersbaugh re-enters the world of Pee-wee Herman blending his unique style and humor into his score for PEE-WEE’S BIG HOLIDAY.  It was recorded at the legendary Abbey Road studios in London, England.  He used smaller ensembles, guitars and synths, and also “a rather large group of Londoners and a chorus made up of their closest singing friends.” Mothersbaugh joked, “The singers were great, but it was hard getting them to stop singing in a British accent on the New York, New York musical number.”

In an early part of the score, Mothersbaugh decided to pay homage to Fairville, the tiny town where Pee-wee lives. “Fairville needed a song of its own.  The city where Pee-wee Herman resides in, to this day, did not have its own theme.”  He described, “I was tasked with creating a theme for the city of Fairville that reflected its fair and honest values, its hardworking folks, and the safety of its stop lightless streets.  Once we had the song in place, the people of Fairville were able to focus on the important job of bringing this film to life.”

As an award winning composer, Mothersbaugh’s credits include MOONRISE KINGDOM, 21 and 22 JUMP STREET, CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALLS, HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA, ENLIGHTENED, RUSHMORE, THE ROYAL TENENBAUMS, THE LIFE AQUATIC WITH STEVE ZISSOU, THE LEGO MOVIE, PEE-WEE’S PLAYHOUSE, and the RUGRATS television, stage and film franchise.  His current television shows include LAST MAN ON EARTH and THE REGULAR SHOW.  Through his multimedia company, Mutato Muzika, Mark has scored hundreds of commercials. Mothersbaugh received the BMI Richard Kirk Award for Outstanding Career Achievement at the organization’s 2004 Film/TV Awards. He can currently be seen as the art teacher on the hit television series, YO GABBA GABBA!

The Netfllix Original Film PEE-WEE’S BIG HOLIDAY is now streaming on Netflix. Varèse Sarabande will release the PEE-WEE’S BIG HOLIDAY – Original Soundtrack digitally on April 8 and on CD May 6, 2016.


1. Main Titles and Farewell (3:49)
2. Pee-wee’s Morning Routine (2:55)
3. Welcome to Fairville (1:15)
4. The Diner (0:54)
5. Up in Smoke (1:05)
6. The Milkshake (1:32)
7. Memories Of Salt Lake City (1:00)
8. The Choice (2:13)
9. A Perfect Start (1:17)
10. Getting Ready to Go (1:16)
11. Bank Robbery (1:47)
12. Pee-wee Meets Pee-wee (1:45)
13. Traveling Salesman (2:19)
14. Pee-wee’s Dreams (2:19)
15. The Farmer’s Daughters (1:26)
16. Night Visitors (1:31)
17. Escape from the Church (1:32)
18. Hairmerica (1:35)
19. Operation Helicopter Head (0:55)
20. Flying Car (1:03)
21. Pee-wee Poppins (0:52)
22. Horseplay (0:45)
23. Amish Village (1:02)
24. On to New York (1:09)
25. Pee-wee Says Goodbye (1:37)
26. New York! New York! (3:18)
27. Hallucinations (1:47)
28. Joe Rescues Pee-wee (2:27)
29. We Are the Party (2:45)
30. Something Different (2:00)