Milan Music is pleased to release new soundtrack by Ryuichi Sakamoto: NAGASAKI: MEMORIES OF MY SON. Ryuichi Sakamoto’s score comes out Sept. 23.

In 2015 Ryuichi Sakamoto  composed the music for Nagasaki: Memories Of My Son, the latest film by legendary Japanese filmmaker Yoji Yamada  whose career has spanned six decades and over 80 films. Yamada is perhaps the last director to have lived through what is now known as the Golden Age of Japanese cinema – a period that gave rise to Kurosawa, Mizoguchi and Ozu.

The film tells the story of Nobuko Fukuhara, a mother who has lost her son in the atomic bombing of Nagasaki. It is an intimate character study of Nobuko, whose son begins to communicate to her as a ghost.

Ryuichi Sakamoto was thrilled when Yoji Yamada approached him for this project. This beautiful soundtrack by the master composer evokes a nostalgic landscape of the humble everyday life of Japanese people while successfully paying homage to the film music of the Golden Age of Japanese cinema.

It’s a heavy, heartbreaking tale, for which veteran composer Ryuichi Sakamoto was tasked with creating appropriately poignant. His masterful score evokes deep emotions without easy sentiment or maudlin clichés, employing swelling strings, echoing piano, mournful woodwinds and unfolding an almost meditative score to a powerful yet subtle story.

This album – never released outside of Japan – is a must have for any fans of Ryuichi Sakamoto.


01  Nagasaki: Memories Of My Son – Title
02 B29
03 August 9th 11:02am
04 At The Graveyard
05 Ghost
06 ‘How Are You?’
07 Koji’s Room
08 78 RPM
09 Raindrops
10 After The Rain
11 Machiko
12 Giving Up
13 ‘I Can’t Take It’
14 Killed In The War
15 Soul Of The Dead Brother
16 Human-Induced Tragedy
17 MP
18 Koji’s Aria
19 Pastoral
20 Sweet Memories
21 Memories Of My Son – PF
22 Memories Of My Son – Requiem
23 Funeral
24 A Hug
25 Dr. Kawakami
26 Nobuko
27 Machiko’s Aria
28 Nagasaki – Memories Of My Son – Title W.PF