Featuring Original Music Composed By Jeff Beal
Varèse Sarabande will release the HOUSE OF CARDS: SEASON 4 – Original Netflix Series Soundtrack digitally on April 1 and on CD April 29, 2016. The album features the original music composed by Jeff Beal (THE DOVEKEEPERS, MONK). The HOUSE OF CARDS Seasons 1, 2 and 3 soundtracks are also available on Varèse Sarabande.
“The story lines of a HOUSE OF CARDS season always inform my musical choices. Season four has a sense of struggle and conflict. The estranged relationship of Frank and Claire Underwood, and a presidential campaign both have an urgency and pace with underscores the mood,” Beal stated. “Tracks such as ‘Make The Terror,’ ‘Any Less Hurtful’ & ‘Obedience’ have a percussive underbelly; helped along immensely by performances by drum master Peter Erskine.”
This is the fourth installment of the acclaimed and award-winning drama HOUSE OF CARDS, starring Golden Globe® winner Kevin Spacey as ruthless and cunning Francis Underwood, who will stop at nothing to conquer the halls of power in Washington D.C. and Robin Wright as Frank as the gorgeous, but cunning Claire Underwood. In this season, the pair continue their pursuit for power, but apart. The biggest threat they face is contending with each other.
Beal concluded, “Beau Willimon and I discussed the idea of getting down the essence of our characters in season four – to distill the music to pure emotive terms. As I listen back to this collection I can’t help but think of the ways we tried to strip away any artifice or false notes, any extraneous plot driven gestures.  ‘Help You Win’ is a requiem of almost unbearable sadness and loss, ‘Remy Danton’ a simple hymn of longing, and ‘Perfectly Timed Exit’ pure Viennese romance.”
A lauded Emmy® award-winning composer, Jeff Beal is a member of a new generation of passionate and talented composers. A graduate of the Eastman School of Music, Beal received his first national attention while in college as the recipient of an unprecedented 11 “db” awards from Downbeat Magazine for his recordings as a jazz trumpeter, composer, and arranger.
As a film composer, Beal has collaborated with Ed Harris’ on his critically acclaimed directorial debut, POLLOCK, as well as APPALOOSA. Other TV and film scores include director Bob Rafelson’s NO GOOD DEED, William H. Macy’s acclaimed DOOR TO DOOR, THE PASSION OF AYN RAND, FROM THE EARTH TO THE MOON (episode 9), the theme and underscore for USA’s hit series, MONK, and ABC’s UGLY BETTY. Beal’s documentary scoring credits include the critically acclaimed films BLACKFISH and TIBET: CRY OF THE SNOW LION, which chronicles the history and religious life of Tibet. He has collaborated on several projects with Academy® Award winning director Jessica Yu including her feature length documentary, IN THE REALMS OF THE UNREAL, as well as LAST CALL AT THE OASIS and THE GUIDE. Other documentary films Beal has scored include THE QUEEN OF VERSAILLES, THE BATTLE OF AMFAR, WHEN I WALK, and the 2016 Sundance U.S. Grand Jury Prize-Winner WEINER. Beal has received four Primetime Emmy® Awards for music including NBC Sports division’s documentary, the Ridley Scott produced documentary THE COMPANY, as well as MONK. Beal scored the third and final season of HBO’s Emmy winning series THE NEWSROOM as well as the fourth season of Netflix’s Emmy winning original series HOUSE OF CARDS. Playing both the trumpet and the piano on the show’s main title theme, Beal sets the tone for the central themes of power, greed and manipulation.
Netflix presents HOUSE OF CARDS: SEASON 4 premiered on March 4, 2016. Seasons 1-4 are currently available for viewing to their subscribers. Varèse Sarabande will release the HOUSE OF CARDS: SEASON 4 – Original Netflix Series Soundtrack digitally on April 1 and on CD April 29, 2016.
The label has previously released soundtracks for all of the first of the first three seasons of the drama.

Disc 1:
1. Any Less Hurtful (3:24)
2. House of Cards Main Title (2:12)
3. Had My Doubts (2:17)
4. Terminal (2:55)
5. Make the Terror (2:07)
6. Texas (3:11)
7. Opposing Forces (3:49)
8. Celia (1:48)
9. Become Dangerous (2:02)
10. Help You Win (3:34)
11. Doris Jones (2:33)
12. It Radiates (0:52)
13. What I’m Afraid Of (1:01)
14. Keep an Eye (1:04)
15. Cabin in the Woods (1:43)
16. Safe Deposit (4:02)
17. Coat Tails (1:44)
18. Cronkite Moments (4:05)
19. Hope He Dies (4:05)
20. The Plan Is Sound (2:06)
21. Digging Up Notes (1:51)
22. Obedience (2:56)
23. Remy Danton (3:21)
24. Madness (1:15)
25. I Dream of Zoe (3:18)
26. New Organ (1:08)
27. Back You Up (6:14)

Disc 2:
1. On the Ticket (3:05)
2. Search Engine Plot (4:47)
3. Common Enemy (3:41)
4. Blind Eye (1:57)
5. NRA Meeting (2:18)
6. Running Mates (4:11)
7. Janine Remembers (2:45)
8. Strawn Man (1:31)
9. Memorial Fund (3:21)
10. Thank You Texas (2:36)
11. Aiko on the Move (1:56)
12. You Should Go (2:40)
13. Good for the Pain (0:50)
14. Arrangements (1:31)
15. Perfectly Timed Exit (3:29)
16. Hallucinations (2:30)
17. Partners for Life (2:40)
18. This Is the President (1:18)
19. Tusk Lied (1:07)
20. Jackie Sharp (1:30)
21. A Thousand Miles (2:47)
22. In the Dark (2:16)
23. Conway Intervenes (2:01)
24. Mr. Hamadi (1:57)
25. Political Sabotage (4:29)
26. Let Him Go (2:29)
27. A United Front (2:06)
28. Rebirth (3:19)