The rousing rebel spirit of a family of Southern thugs takes off at breakneck speed in The Baytown Outlaws—a wickedly playful, high-velocity action comedy in which three infamously ruthless Alabama brothers find themselves on the wrong side of crooked cops, relentless Feds, mad mobsters, road pirates, tomahawk-wielding bikers, and tricky femmes fatales when they finally try to do a single good deed.  To accompany the film, composer Christopher Young and Kostas Christides composed a score entirely for rock band.  While this may not seem out of the ordinary, Young explains: “It’s hard to believe it took so long, approximately 30 years, for someone who initially wanted nothing more than to be a rock, then jazz, drummer. In fact the music is not quite rock since the film is set in Alabama. Let’s just say it’s tinged with Southern sunsets, but also with a taste of tumbleweed and tundra driving down desert drags. You know the scene.” Accompanying the raucous outing, literally, is Christopher Young performing on piano and…screams. “You can’t miss my piano performance, because that instrument appears only once on the CD, and the only accompaniment to it are birds (not kidding).”

Young has always looked for a new sound, something unique, to expand his artistry when composing film scores.  This score and album confirm that his creativity is still working overtime to do something entirely different.

Classy cast in high-octane Southern action picture gets punchy rock-based Southern soundtrack by Christopher Young & Kostas Christides to match! Barry Battles calls tale a “Southern Whup-Ass Extravaganza”, directs Billy Bob Thornton, Eva Longoria, Andre Braugher in action at breakneck speed. Young & Christides create cues both high-powered, flavorful. When called for, melodies take front and center. Moments of tenderness have their say as well. But no matter where composers take score, guitars, bass, drums & piano underline everything with crisp, twangy authenticity. Striking, unusual score from horror music veterans! As customary for composer Young, CD features cues carefully re-worked and assembled for maximum listening pleasure. Christopher Young on piano, Tom Rotella, Andy Abad, Nick Stoubis on guitars, Karl Vincent on bass, M.B. Gordy on drums & percussion. A genuine thrill-ride, country style!


01. Baytown Outlaws (3:58)
02. Sugar Plum Scum (2:54)
03. Longorioso (3:11)
04. Brthr Fckr (4:13)
05. When You Wish Upon A Guitar (3:16)
06. Two Pistol Coffin (5:42)
07. She Is My Shining Island Nympho (4:14)

08. Shellac Eyes (2:10)
09. Ode To Billy Bob (4:05)
10. Lay Me Down On Cold Ground (3:42)
11. Bob-A-Lo Babe (3:10)
12. Fandango Mango (4:27)
13. Searley Insane (3:30)