All revenues from sales of NINA’S CHILDREN will go in full

to the UNHCR in order to support the refugees in Europe.

The latest release of MovieScore Media marks the label’s first release for charity purposes: all revenues from sales of this release will go in full to the UNHCR in order to support the refugees in Europe. Written and directed by Nina F. Grünfeld, Nina´s Children tells the story of a Jewish orphanage in Oslo during World War II. Through interviews, archive material and reconstructions the viewer learns about the children’s destiny and how they were rescued by a brave woman named Nina Hasvoll Meyer and her good friends in the resistance movement. But the film is not just about the past as the director explains: “Watching and reading refugee history tells us not only what once happened, but should remind us of how history repeats and what we ought to think and feel about the current refugee situation in the world.”
The score for Nina’s Children was written by Norwegian composer Gaute Storaas. He started his studies on the University of Bergen, then he also attended the Berklee College of Music in Boston, earning a diploma in arranging. His best known work is the popular television series Elias: The Little Rescue Boat and the two feature-length spin-offs: Elias and the Royal Yacht won the Tonos Award in 2007 while Elias and the Treasure of the Sea brought its creator a Nordic Film Composers Award in 2011. The CD with music from the show was nominated for a Spellemannprisen (Norwegian Grammy). Gaute’s music for Kanonprisen was voted as the Best Norwegian Film Score of 2010.

“When director Nina Grünfeld trusted me with this project, I was honored and moved” recalls the composer. “Although this is taking place in one of the darkest chapters of human history, it is also a positive, at times happy story, and we wanted the music to reflect this doubleness. From the beginning, it was obvious  that this had to be an all-acoustic, classical-type score, this is not a topic for cheap solutions. So within our somewhat limited budget, I had an ensemble of piano, clarinet and string quintet, which gave a nice intimate sound and still could supply the emotions and scope we needed. In fact, I don’t think I would have done it in any other way if we had all the money in the world.”

The soundtrack has a digital release date of  October 9, 2015. 

View in iTunes


1 Nina’s Children 2:21

2 Engabo 2:07

3 Anschluss 3:08

4 Denmark, Norway, Sweden 3:26

5 Baerum 2:08

6 Berlin 1933 1:57

7 The Orphanage 1:48

8 Peeping Tom 1:30

9 Exacerbation 2:00

10 Escape 1942 2:51

11 Why Me? 1:37

12 Peace, 1945 2:36

13 Josef 1:11

14 Going Back 2:15

15 Lovers’ Serenade 1:06


Music score “Nina´s Children” from the recording at Rainbow Studio in Oslo, June 2015. from


Gründer Film on Vimeo.