Premiere release of knockout score by Peter Bernstein for Jonathan Betuel adventure/fantasy with John Stockwell, Fisher Stevens, Dennis Hopper. Movie was an early effort from Disney’s then-new Touchstone division, aimed at teen market. Special effects are name of the game, with everything from UFO’s to dinosaurs all getting their say in the name of high school science. Peter Bernstein draws inspiration from fast pace, exciting set pieces, creates major-league symphonic score that propels the action. In balance are crisp high tech sequences for keyboards, electronics that anchor everything else in the hip world of 1985. There are numerous highlights but several rousing action cues take front and center. Also included is punchy end credit number “My Science Project”, performed by The Tubes. Several extras round out nice package. Entire CD mastered in dynamic stereo from multi-channel session masters preserved in pristine condition in Disney vaults. 1985 saw numerous fantastic movies aimed at video game-era teens, many with supercharged scores in tow: Back To The Future, Explorers, Real Genius, others. At last, Peter Bernstein has his day! Peter Bernstein conducts.

For the 1985 sci-fi film, My Science Project, composer Peter Bernstein and writer/director Jonathan Betuel agreed the film should have a traditional symphonic score, laced with elements of synthesizers and electronics.  The score is largely in the Romantic orchestral vein popularized by John Williams and others in that decade’s biggest blockbusters. Bernstein wrote a six-note motif for the plot-generating gizmo, a chromatic fanfare that mingles menace and wonder.  Bernstein fashioned his score with multiple layers of material, creating a massive musical canvas. He worked with the pop sensibilities of guitar and rhythm section to balance the numerous songs, created additional textures from several synthesized keyboards, combined elements of both to create new sonorities—and, of course, composed a considerable amount of music for large orchestra as well.  Also included with this release is the pulsating end title song, “My Science Project” performed by The Tubes.

To present all of this fascinating music on CD for the first time, Intrada was given access to the masters on 2” 24-track session rolls and 1/2” multi-track keyboard session tapes recorded by Shawn Murphy at the Warner Bros. Scoring Stage.

My Science Project begins with Michael Harlan (John Stockwell) at risk of not graduating from high school unless he impresses his science teacher, “Bob”—a lingering hippie played by Dennis Hopper—with a winning class project. A “gearhead” obsessed with cars, Michael decides to root around an old junkyard of decommissioned military aircraft for something to scam off as his invention. He stumbles across a glowing “gizmo” from a government-buried UFO, soon revealed as a havocwreaking time portal. Sucked into this whirlwind are Michael’s nerdy-but-interested-and-secretly-beautiful classmate Ellie (Danielle von Zerneck) and his wisecracking buddy from Brooklyn, Vince (Fisher Stevens). The gizmo sucks Bob back into the glorious ’60s—and spits a cacophony of ancient monsters, angry Viet Cong and a Tyrannosaurus rex into their present-day high school.

Label: Intrada Special Collection Volume ISC 297
Date: 1985
Time: 1:08:03
Tracks: 33



01. Main Title (4:12)
02. Bye Crystal, Hello Ellie (3:20)
03. Class Interlude* (2:01)
04. The Base (1:52)
05. The Pit (4:01)
06. Base Chase (1:21)
07. Vinnie And Renie (1:28)
08. Goodnight (1:48)
09. My Science Project (Score) (2:16)
10. First Warp (1:14)
11. Source Piece No. 1* (2:29)
12. Bye, Bye, Bob (3:36)
13. Blackout Town (0:45)
14. Bare Wires Start (4:09)
15. Cars And Books (1:56)
16. Bang! (1:00)
17. Back To School (1:25)
18. Crossroads (1:51)

19. When In Rome (1:38)
20. Jungle (1:58)
21. G.F.Z. (3:22)
22. Stop It (6:41)
23. Just A Car (1:29)
24. “My Science Project” (Performed by The Tubes) (4:06)
     Time: 60:22

The Extras (Score)
25. What’s The Dish? (0:35)
26. Sherman Spies (0:11)
27. Gizmo (0:28)
28. Sword No. 1 (0:14)
29. Sword No. 2 (0:18)
30. After Blackout* (0:14)
31. Egg-Boy Sherman (0:15)
32. Dance Trio* (Source Piece No. 2) (0:40)
33. Dance Quartet* (Source Piece No. 3 In Reverse) (0:41)
Time: 7:41