Milan Records will release a soundtrack album for the Russian biographical drama Leto. The album features the music from the film, including tracks by the Russian bands Zveri and Kino, as well as songs by T. Rex, The Velvet Underground & more. The soundtrack will be released in France on November 30.

Essential director of Russian cinema’s new generation, Kirill Serebrennikov releases his new movie Leto. The cast includes Roma Zver (from Zveri), Teo YooIrina Starshenbaumand Filipp Avdeyev.

Leningrad, one summer in the early eighties. Smuggling LP’s by Lou Reed and David Bowie, the underground rock scene is boiling ahead of the Perestroika. Mike and his beautiful wife Natasha meet with young Viktor Tsoï. Together with friends, they will change the destiny of rock’n’roll in the Soviet Union.

The film delivers a snapshot of this vibrant era and charts the coming of age and rise to fame of young rock singers, including Viktor Tsoï and Mike Naumenko, the founder of the group Zoopark.

The original songs by Viktor Stoï and Zoopark, interpreted and re-recorded for the movie by Zveri, witness a generation for whom musical creation was the only guide, the pillar of their life.

On the sound of Leto, musical producers Roma Zver and German Osipov said : « Original songs of both ” Zoopark ” and Viktor Tsoï inhabit in the movie. We needed to perform them authentically and pay attention to how they sounded then in the 80s, to the conditions the musicians lived at the time, with their equipment and their performing skills. That’s why in some of the songs we had to downplay on purpose. We had to do it in the spirit they did it in then ».

Zveri also covered songs of Kino (Viktor Tsoï‘s band) and Talking HeadsLou Reed or Iggy Pop‘s classics. The soundtrack aslo includes tracks of the Velvet UndergroundDavid Bowie


1. (You’re A) Scum – Zveri
2. Broken Hearted Blues (Acoustic & Bass Demo) – T. Rex
3. Summer – Zveri
4. Sundown – Zveri
5. My Friends (Are Marchin’ Their Life Away) – Zveri, Petr Pogodaev, Philipp Avdeev
6. Deadbeat – Zveri, Petr Pogodaev, Philipp Avdeev
7. The Night Time – Zveri
8. Psycho Killer (Talking Heads Cover) – Alexander Gorchilin, GSh
9. Junior High Babe – Zveri , Petr Pogodaev
10. I’m Waiting for the Man – The Velvet Underground
11. Passenger (Iggy Pop Cover) – Anton Sevidov
12. Rock ‘N’ Roll Star – Zveri
13. The Beatnik – Zveri, Petr Pogodaev
14. In the Backyard of Rock Club – Zveri
15. Perfect Day (Lou Reed Cover) – Elena Koreneva, Anton Sevidov
16. Ashes to Ashes – David Bowie
17. The Mood I’m In – Petr Pogodaev, Zveri
18. The Return – Zveri
19. Plenty of Time (And out of Dough) – Petr Pogodaev, Zveri
20. Kitchen Scene – Petr Pogodaev, Zveri
21. Completely – Alexander Gorchilin, Zveri
22. All the Young Dudes (David Bowie Cover) – Shortparis
23. Six a.M – Petr Pogodaev, Zveri
24. The Tree – Petr Pogodaev, Zveri , Petr Tishkov
25. Summer Will Be over Soon – End Titles – Kino
26. Bonus Track: L’été (feat. Jenia Lubich) – Zveri