Music Composed by HALLI CAUTHERY

ScreamWorks Records presents Halli Cauthery’s stylish score for the new Frankenstein adaptation by filmmaker Bernard Rose, best known for directing the 1992 art horror Candyman. In this modern retelling of Mary Shelley’s classic, the story is told told entirely from the perspective of the monster. Set in contemporary Los Angeles, the artificially created named Adam is left for dead by a husband-and-wife team of eccentric scientists – yet he lives. As the monster is confronted with nothing but aggression and violence from the world around him. This perfect creation-turned disfigured create must come to grips with the horrific nature of humanity, making us question who the real monster is in the proces…. Frankenstein stars Xavier Samuel as Adam, Danny Huston as Dr. Victor and Candyman himself Tony Todd in the role of a blind street musician.

Talking about his score, composer Halli Cauthery notes: ”For director Bernard Rose’s bold modern take on the Frankenstein story, my score weaves together a number of contrasting musical ideas: from the solemn, chant-like piece for men’s choir which represents ‘Adam’, or the monster himself; to the gentle, reflective piano theme which is representative of the idea of ‘mother’ (a key theme in the movie); as well as the low throbbing electronic pulse around which is built a number of ‘horror’-like music cues depicting the monster’s deep inner emotional turmoil as he struggles to understand and make sense of the world around him.”

Halli Cauthery studied violin, viola and composition at the Yehudi Menuhin School, and obtained degrees in music from Manchester University and the University of Cambridge. Between 2006 and 2012 he worked as an assistant to Harry Gregson-Williams, contributing music to, among others, the Shrek, X-Men and Narnia franchises; other collaborators include Henry Jackman (Captain America: Civil War and the upcoming Kong: Skull Island); Danny Elfman (Hellboy 2); and Brian Tyler (Iron Man 3). As a composer his most significant credits include the Netflix/Dreamworks Animation series Turbo F.A.S.T., for which he received an Emmy nomination in 2016; the critically-acclaimed 2013 thriller The East; the Shrek Halloween TV special Scared Shrekless and the Lifetime Television film Living Proof.’


Release date (digital): February 24, 2017


1 Syringe 3:50
2 Deserve to Die 2:01
3 Sensations 2:38
4 In Pain 1:32
5 Flight 1:59
6 Feeding 1:53
7 Monster Awakens 2:12
8 Biopsy 2:28
9 Chase 3:40
10 Control Your Dog 2:40
11 Muggers 2:21
12 How We Made You 3:16
13 Immolation 4:28
14 Egnirys 0:56