Music Composed by NICKLAS SCHMIDT

Based on the acclaimed crime novel series by Jussi Adler-Olsen, Zentropa’s Department Q series is one of the biggest hits of Scandinavian cinema in recent years. Coinciding with the international release of A Conspiracy of Faith, the third film in the saga, MovieScore Media releases a whole trilogy of soundtracks: The Keeper of Lost Causes and The Absent One, scored by Johan Söderqvist, Patrik Andrén and Uno Helmersson, and A Conspiracy of Faith featuring music by Nicklas Schmidt. What all three scores have in common is that they provide ominous suspense scoring with great themes and memorable motifs for the mysterious characters emerging from the past in each installment.

The Department Q series stars Nikolaj Lie Kaas as Inspector Carl Mørck and Fares Fares as Assad, two investigators whose job is to re-investigate cold cases whenever a new evidence turns up. In the most recent A Conspiracy of Faith, a mysterious message in a bottle reveals the truth about religious fanatics kidnapping children and the reasons why parents don’t report the incidents.

Nicklas Schmidt has written the score for a number of feature films, documentaries, video games and TV series, including the hit Danish comedy Klassefesten 2 (2014) and children’s animation ranging from the 3-D adventure The Great Bear (2011) through the genre parody Ronal the Barbarian (2011) to the haunting Beyond Beyond (2014). Nicklas also worked as an arranger and orchestrator on the Golden Globe winning and Oscar nominated score for the Stephen Hawking biopic The Theory of Everything, composed by Jóhann Johánnsson.

MMS16012 • 
Release date (digital): June 3, 2016
Release date (CD): June 17, 2016

View in iTunes


1 Message in a Bottle 2:17
2 Elias and Rakel 1:08
3 A New Case 1:48
4 The Kidnap 3:04
5 Trygve 1:14
6 The Boathouse 2:53
7 A Religious Man 3:42
8 Serial Killer 4:26
9 The Train 9:57
10 You Promised! 1:28
11 Trauma 2:20
12 Hospital Chase 6:35
13 Devil’s Soldier 3:27
14 Closing In 4:36
15 Taking Him Down 6:49
16 Just a Tiny Lad 2:31
17 A Conspiracy of Faith 3:52
18 Tour of Skals 1:29