The World Soundtrack Academy has announced the list of its nominees for the 2013 Awards in three of five categories: Film Composer of the Year, Best Original Score of the Year and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. The names of the winners will be announced at the World Soundtrack Awards & Concert on Saturday, October 19, the closing night of the 40th edition of Film Fest Gent.


Award can be presented in respect of one film or in respect of a body of work in the year

Mychael Danna
(Life of Pi)

Alexandre Desplat
(Argo, Reality, Renoir, Rise of the Guardians, Zero Dark Thirty)

Danny Elfman
(Epic, Frankenweenie, Hitchcock, Oz The Great and Powerful, Promised Land, Silver Linings Playbook)

James Newton Howard
(After Earth, The Bourne Legacy)

Thomas Newman
(Side Effects, Skyfall)


Anna Karenina by Dario Marianelli
The Hobbit: an Unexpected Journey by Howard Shore
Life of Pi by Mychael Danna
The Master by Jonny Greenwood
Skyfall by Thomas Newman


The Bathtub
from “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
music & Lyrics by Dan Romer & Benh Zeitlin
performed by The Lost Bayou Ramblers

Young & Beautiful
from “The Great Gatsby”
music & lyrics by Lana Del Rey & Rick Nowels
performed by Lana Del Rey

Pi’s Lullaby
from “Life of Pi”
music & lyrics by Mychael Danna and Bombay Jayashri
performed by Bombay Jayashri

from: “Oblivion”
music & lyrics by Anthony Gonzalez and Susanne Sundfør
performed by M83 feat. Susanne Sundfør

from “Skyfall”
music & lyrics by Adele & Paul Epworth
performed by Adele

Alexander Desplat in concert
Film Fest Gent is delighted to welcome the French composer Alexandre Desplat to the traditional film music concert during the second part of the World Soundtrack Academy award ceremony. He continues to amaze with the sheer volume of compositions he produces, yet without compromising quality and imagination in the slightest. Last year, he wrote remarkable music for no fewer than eight (!) feature films: the Oscar winning “Argo” by Ben Affleck, “Zero Dark Thirty” by Kathryn Bigelow, “Rise of the Guardians” by Peter Ramsey, “Renoir” by Gilles Bourdos, “Reality” by Matteo Garrone, “De Rouille et d’Os” by Jacques Audiard, “Moonrise Kingdom” by Wes Anderson and “Cloclo” by Florent-Emilio Siri. This year’s Cannes Film Festival programme featured two more films for which Desplat has written scores: Venus in Fur by Roman Polanski and Zulu by Jérôme Salle. ??Since his debut in the late eighties, Desplat already has 143 scores to his name and his international career includes collaborations with leading directors.

Lifetime Achievement Award for Riz Ortolani
This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award to be presented during the award ceremony of the WSA concert goes to the Italian composer Riz Ortolani, born in 1931 in Pesaro, Italy. Together with Ennio Morricone and the late Carlo Rustichelli and Nino Rota, Ortolani is one of the greats of Italian film music from the golden era of Italian cinema. While the best-known titles from his filmography may be entrenched in the Sixties and Seventies, in recent years, he has once again become a ‘cult’ composer thanks to Quentin Tarantino. Nicolas Winding Refn also played his part in the Ortolani revival. In his stylish thriller ‘Drive’, he introduced the most hypnotising song by the composer (performed by Ortolani’s muse Katyna Ranieri) to new audiences: Oh My Love, originally written for the notorious exploitation classic ‘Goodbye Uncle Tom’ (1971) by G. Jacopetti.

The World Soundtrack Academy welcomes new members
The World Soundtrack Academy was founded in 2001 by the Ghent International Film Festival to celebrate the role of music in film and honor film composers. The WSA Academy now has over 350 international members comprised of composers, film professionals, record label executives and other representatives of the film music business.

This year we welcomed some new members to the Advisory Board: European agent Jean-Pierre Arquié, Executive Director of BMI Brandon Bakshi, 20th Century Fox Music president Danielle Diego, our own music coordinator Valerie Dobbelaere, FilmMusicSite founder Arvid Fossen, Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia Executive Director Peter Gistelinck, Grammy voting member Tom MacDougall, music supervisor Randall Poster, Director of Programs in Films Scoring and Songwriting at NYU Ronald Sadoff, talent agent Cheryl Tiano and Asian composer Shigeru Umebayashi. They were actively involved in selecting the nominees of this year’s awards. Together with the other members, they will shape the film music industry in the years to come.

Discovery & Public Choice Award
At the end of August, the Academy Board will announce the 5 nominees for the category ‘Discovery of the Year 2013’. In addition to the Awards presented by the Academy, film music fans around the world can vote for the best soundtrack of the year (see You can win a year’s subscription to Deezer, world leader in online music streaming. They offer unlimited access to a music catalog of over 25 million songs, including film music.


via World Soundtrack Academy