Featuring Original Music By Roque Baños

Lakeshore Records will release the REGRESSION – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on October 23, 2015 and on CD later this year. The album features original music by Roque Baños (EVIL DEAD, HEART OF THE SEA).

From Alejandro Amenábar, director of THE OTHERS, THE SEA INSIDE, and OPEN YOUR EYES comes a chilling psychological thriller starring Ethan Hawke and Emma Watson.

“Alejandro Amenabar, is a composer as well as director, but he wanted to leave on me all the creative aspects on this score,” Baños explained. “When I saw the movie for the first time, it was without any reference or temp music, so I literally had to start from zero. We did have a conversation about the mood of course, but these were general aspects in tones such as mysterious, magic, horror, ancestral vocals, etc.”

Roque Baños was born in Jumilla (Murcia) in 1968. He began his musical education at the Conservatorio Superior de Música de Murcia where he finished elementary level, specializing in saxophone, obtaining Honors in both Music Theory and in Saxophone. In 1986, he moved to Madrid, completing his studies at the Madrid Royal Conservatory of Music and then received a grant from the Ministry of Culture, in 1993 he moved to Boston to study at Berklee College of Music, majoring in Music Composition for Film and Jazz.

Since 1998 when he scored his first film SECONDARY ROADS directed by Emilio Martinez Lazaro, he has worked with Spain’s most renowned directors such as Alex de la Iglesia, Daniel Monzon, Carlos Saura, Emilio Martinez Lazaro, and Santiago Segura to name a few, and other internationally acclaimed directors such as Jonathan Glazer, Brad Anderson, Marcelo Piñeyro or Gerard Junot amongst others.

It should be noted, among his latest works, EVIL DEAD directed by Fede Alvarez and produced by Bruce Campbell and Sam Raimi and OLDBOY by Spike Lee.  His latest works are HEART OF THE SEA, directed by Ron Howard (premiering December 2015), and RISEN from Kevin Reynolds which will be released in January 2016.

“When I compose, I generally start from the very beginning and continue chronologically, but in this case I started from the last scene of the movie and went backwards,” explained Baños. “One of the main themes, the ‘Regression theme’, is a twelve tone melody. This is a very rare, never used in film, way of composing. This gives it a very mysterious and dizzy feeling to when we go inside of a mind in the regression scenes. I also used it backwards – Alejandro and I thought this worked really week in the story.”

REGRESSION is being theatrically released in select countries this October.  The REGRESSION – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available digitally on October 23 and on CD later this year.


1. Opening
2. A Shattered Family
3. John’s Regression
4. Meeting At The Church
5. Angela’s Statement
6. Trouble Sleeping
7. Pittsburgh
8. In Roy’s Bedroom
9. They’ll Kill Me
10. The Black Mass
11. Mom Was Followed
12. This Is All For You
13. Too Many Pieces
14. Night Call
15. A Way To Confuse You
16. Secret Recipe
17. Back To The Tapes
18. This Is Science
19. The Fight
20. Evil Itself
21. It’s My Fault – End Credits