Music by Roque Baños
Lakeshore Records has released a soundtrack album for the horror thriller Don’t Breathe. The album features the film’s original music composed by Roque Banos (The MachinistEvil DeadIn the Heart of the SeaSexy BeastOldboy).
Rocky (Jane Levy), Alex and Money are three Detroit thieves who get their kicks by breaking into the houses of wealthy people. Money gets word about a blind veteran who won a major cash settlement following the death of his only child. Figuring he’s an easy target, the trio invades the man’s secluded home in an abandoned neighborhood. Finding themselves trapped inside, the young intruders must fight for their lives after making a shocking discovery about their supposedly helpless victim.
Since scoring his first film in 1997, Roque Baños has enjoyed a prolific and rewarding career, and is perhaps best known internationally for his incredibly well-received scores to films like In the Heart of the Sea, Oldboy, The Machinist, Sexy Beast, The Last Circus, and The Intruders. His great facility for employing a wide range of styles, including jazz, rock, multi- ethnic folk and many different classical influences for the many genre of pictures he’s composed has lead to him being sought out for the truly unique voice that he can provide to a wide range of projects. Prompted by his commission to compose the score to Fede Alvarez’s remake of Evil Dead, Baños relocated to L.A., which created an even keener awareness of his talents in the U.S.
Roque certainly has been one of the busiest composers in Spain, having worked with some the country’s most renowned directors, including Alex de la Iglesia, Daniel Monzon, Carlos Saura, Emilio Martinez Lazaro, and Santiago Segura, as well as other internationally acclaimed directors Jonathan Glazer, Brad Anderson, Marcelo Piñeyro and Gerard Junot. His film score suites have been also widely performed with great success in many concerts halls, festivals and auditoriums all over Europe, for which he often also conducts.
Born in Jumilla (Murcia) Spain in 1968, he began his musical education at the Murcia Conservatory where he specialized in saxophone, obtaining honors in both music theory and in saxophone. In 1986 he moved to Madrid, completing his studies at the Madrid Royal Conservatory of Music with honors, earning degrees in Saxophone, Piano, Music Theory, Harmony, Counterpoint, Composition and Conducting, where he specialized in saxophone, obtaining Honors in both music theory and in saxophone.
In 1993, after receiving a grant from the Ministry of Culture, he moved to Boston to study at Berklee College of Music, majoring in Music Composition for Film and Jazz. At Berklee he received the Robert Share Award for demonstrating the highest musical-dramatic level in the area of film music composition, and an Achievement Award for his outstanding performance abilities. He graduated Summa Cum Laude in the fields of Film Scoring and Performance in 1997.
Roque’s career first developed as a concert saxophone player performing in a number of concerts in Spain and abroad, both as a soloist and as part of various chamber ensembles. He featured his own works and those of others from Spain and abroad. His principal goal, however, was always directed towards the areas composition and conducting, and finding his way in these fields became his principal occupation. His concert work was at the National Auditorium in Madrid, the Reina Sofia Auditorium, the Cultural Circle of Fine Arts Hall, and in many festivals of contemporary music and other concert halls and events
1. The Abandoned Neighborhood (2:24)
2. Let’s Do This One (6:30)
3. Approaching the House (2:37)
4. The Blindman Liar (3:45)
5. Money Dies (3:45)
6. The Safe Box (4:15)
7. Let’s Get Out of Here (6:23)
8. Indoor Chasing (3:44)
9. Dog Hunting (3:26)
10. Captured (2:49)
11. Insemination (5:16)
12. Trapped In the Car (5:17)
13. Back To the House (2:28)
14. Leaving Town (4:05)
15. Don’t Breathe Credits (2:30)