Featuring Original Music by Bear McCreary

Lakeshore Records, in conjunction with Mondo, will release the COLOSSAL – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on April 7th and on CD May 12, 2017. The album features the original music by Bear McCreary (10 CLOVERFIELD LANE, OUTLANDER).  Available for pre-orders on mondotees.com beginning April 5th, and in-stores on May 26th, Mondo will release a limited edition 180-gram vinyl version of the soundtrack, featuring original artwork by We Buy Your Kids.

COLOSSAL is about Gloria (Anne Hathaway) is an out-of-work party girl who finds herself in relationship trouble with her sensible boyfriend, Tim (Dan Stevens), and is forced to move back to her tiny hometown to get her life back on track. She reconnects with childhood friend Oscar (Jason Sudeikis), a good-natured bar owner with a coterie of drinking buddies (Tim Blake Nelson and Austin Stowell), and resumes her drinking lifestyle.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the world, a larger-than-life creature begins attacking Seoul, South Korea on a nightly basis, captivating spectators around the world. One night, Gloria is horrified to discover that her every move at a local playground is being mimicked on a catastrophic scale by the rampaging beast. When Gloria’s friends get wind of the bizarre phenomenon, a second, more destructive creature emerges, prompting an epic showdown between the two monsters.

“I chose to focus the music entirely on Gloria,” explained McCreary. “We witness the fantastic events through her eyes, so I generally chose to score her reaction to the events, rather than the events themselves.”

McCreary took an unusual approach to working on the film – he started at the end.  “It was vitally important that the score deliver an epic, soaring finale, without overpowering or destroying the tone of the film. The last 12 minutes of the film was the first thing I wrote.  Once the final reel was approved by the director and studio it was an easier process to reverse engineer the rest of the score.” He continued, “I wanted the score to feel almost schizophrenic for the first hour of the film. Like, some edgy indie rock band scored half of it, and a classically trained orchestral composer scored the other half. Then, as the film progresses, the two musical styles merge to form a coherent vision.”

Bear McCreary is an Emmy® Award winner for DA VINCI’S DEMONS, he composes music for the hit television series THE WALKING DEAD, OUTLANDER (for Executive Producer Ronald D. Moore who he previously worked with on BATTLESTAR GALACTICA), MARVEL’S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D., and BLACK SAILS.   His feature film projects include 10 CLOVERFIELD LANE, FOREST, THE BOY, ANGRY VIDEO GAME NERD: THE MOVIE, EVERLY and EUROPA REPORT.  McCreary earned his fourth Emmy® nomination, his first for Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Drama), with OUTLANDER.  His 2017 projects include the videogame GOD OF WAR, the documentary UNREST and the feature film REBEL IN THE RYE.

NEON presents COLOSSAL in theaters nationwide on April 7, 2017.  Lakeshore Records will release the COLOSSAL – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on April 7th and on CD May 12, 2017. Mondo will release an LP version of the soundtrack on May 26th, with pre-orders beginning April 5, 2017.


1. Colossal Prologue (2:20)
2. A Monster Hypothesis (5:19)
3. A Walk in the Park (2:18)
4. Jealousy (3:13)
5. Have a Beer (4:45)
6. The Most Irresponsible Thing (3:06)
7. Birth of the Monster (3:44)
8. Confronting Oscar (4:15)
9. Separate Ways (5:39)
10. The Colossal Finale Part 1 (4:06)
11. The Colossal Finale Part 2 (1:59)