Composed and Conducted by JERRY GOLDSMITH

Remastered CD release of landmark, actual Jerry Goldsmith soundtrack from popular Peter Hyams conspiracy/action thriller starring Elliot Gould, James Brolin, O.J. Simpson, Hal Holbrook, Sam Waterston, Brenda Vaccaro. Not to be confused with 1978 Warner Bros. album featuring re-recorded highlights, this is a slightly revised new mastering of Intrada’s 2005 world premiere of Goldsmith’s complete film soundtrack, recorded by Aaron Rochin at MGM Studios in August 1977.

Jerry Goldsmith’s score for the 1978 film Capricorn One unknowingly created a template for the next quarter-century of action scores.  The cat-and-mouse chase and escape sequences afforded Goldsmith the opportunity to compose some of the most unique suspense and exciting action set-pieces of his lengthy career, not to mention the appearance of a subtly melancholy romantic theme that speaks to love tragically lost.

Ten years ago Intrada premiered the original film recordings on a limited edition CD that quickly sold out.  The justifiably famous LP released at the time of the movie’s debut was a re-recording made by Goldsmith, containing edited highlights, arranged and reorchestrated by Goldsmith. Performances on the Intrada are crisper and cues have significant complex detail, including much of the electronics, that were deleted from the LP arrangement.  Rather than simply re-use the master from the 2005 release, Intrada has rebuilt, reassembled and remastered the music to improve the sound, including an additional alternate not previously released.

The conspiracy-thriller tells the story of a voyage to Mars.  But did the astronauts ever reach their destination?  In Capricorn One, a misguided attempt to save a failing space program results in a faked landing on Mars. They almost get away with it, too, until the real unmanned space capsule burns up during re-entry and the three “astronauts” find themselves facing certain execution. Directed by Peter Hyams, the film stars Elliot Gould, James Brolin, Sam Waterston, Brenda Vaccaro, Hal Holbrook, Karen Black, O.J. Simpson, and Telly Savalas.

Satisfied owners of that debut release need not feel compelled to apply. Others take note: working from Rochin’s original first generation session mixes allows us to add one “extra” to previous program. Listeners will now find an early take of “Docking”, ostensibly similar to final film version but featuring subtle changes in dynamics of undulating xylophone parts, brass crescendos. One other minor change: “Kay’s Theme” (heard in pool hall/bar sequence) now plays as stand-alone cue, as does brief “Elliot Is Missing” music that follows. Goldsmith’s intense, propulsive low brass ostinatos that drive much of the score are all-time career highlights, influencing future action scoring for decades to come. Original liner notes by Jeff Bond, flipper booklet cover art design by Joe Sikoryak complete this powerhouse soundtrack release. Now available in Intrada’s standard INT 7000 series, becoming readily available for new generations of exciting film score aficionados. Jerry Goldsmith conducts, delivers one of his all-time most exciting works!

Label: Intrada 7142
Date: 1978
Time: 59:48


01. Main Title (1:11)
02. Abort 1 (1:33)
03. Abort 2 (0:34)
04. Capricorn Control (0:27)
05. Mars 1:20)
06. Docking (2:49)
07. Working Overtime (0:45)
08. We Have Landed (1:01)
09. The Message (3:54)
10. Kay’s Theme [Trio Source] (3:38)
11. Elliot Is Missing (0:14)
12. The Letter (2:57)
13. Break Out (5:07)
14. The Desert (0:30)
15. Bedtime Story (2:36)
16. The Helicopters (1:07)
17. Hide And Seek (1:25)

18. No Water (2:48)
19. Flare No. 1 (0:30)
20. The Long Climb/Flare No. 2 (3:54)
21. The Snake (3:34)
22. To Bru From Kay (1:49)
23. The Station (5:31)
24. The Celebration (1:41)
25. End Title (2:07)
Score Total Time: 53:30

Bonus Tracks
26. Fanfare Source (0:13)
27. Docking (Original) (2:50)
28. Break Out (LP imitation) (3:05)
Total Extras Time: 6:12