Performed by Barcelona’s Liceu Opera House Symphony and Choir in their first ever film score recording, Arnau Bataller’s music for The Brotherhood (La Hermandad) combines dark textures (orchestral effects and electronics) with a more thematic approach characterized by the evocative choral writing inspired by the story’s religious setting.

Composer Arnau Bataller has worked on countless American and Spanish projects, including José Luis Alemán’s H.P. Lovecraft-inspired horror films The Valdemar Legacy (2010) and The Valdemar Legacy II: The Forbodden Shadow (2010) – also available from MovieScore Media. The Brotherhood marks Bataller’s second collaboration with Julio Martí after La victoria de Úrsula (2011).

The Brotherhood is a moody Spanish thriller written and directed by Julio Martí. The film tells the story of Sara (Lydia Bosch), a successful horror author who survives an accident just outside a secluded Benedictine monastery in northern Italy. Even though she should stay in bed, Sara soon finds intriguing secrets about the monastery: strange stains on the ceiling, an infant crying in the night, an old photograph and a chilling book on the Brotherhood and their disturbing customs…

SWR14008 • THE BROTHERHOOD (LA HERMANDAD) (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Music Composed by ARNAU BATALLER
Release date (digital): March 25, 2014


1 Main Titles 2:50
2 Discovering the Past 2:07
3 First Departure 4:48
4 I Have Heard Children 2:21
5 Eli’s Book 3:30
6 There Are Children 1:53
7 Investigations 4:12
8 Isolated 3:32
9 Get Them! 2:55
10 My Daughter 4:10
11 It Can’t Be 3:35
12 The Confession 6:18
13 The Brotherhood 3:57

View in iTunes

Via Moviescore MediaKronos Records and Screamworks Records