Featuring Original Music by Emmy® Award-Winning Composer Bear McCreary

Lakeshore Records and Sparks & Shadows will release the REVOLT – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK digitally on October 13, 2017. The album features the original score by Emmy® Award-Winning Composer Bear McCreary (REBEL IN THE RYE, 10 CLOVERFIELD LANE).

Set in the war-ravaged African countryside, an American soldier (Lee Pace) and a French foreign aid worker (Bérénice Marlohe) team up to survive the alien onslaught. As they journey through the battlefield in search of refuge, their bond will be tested when the soldier discovers his true identity.

“From day one, Bear and I agreed that our original scifi movie needed a signature sound.  A score that would balance a sinister alien presence with the power of our will to fight back,” said writer/director Joe Miale.  “Bear gives our story a distinct voice, one that can waver, whimper or scream. A single solo instrument sails with uncertainty over a relentless rhythm— man against machine. Cue after cue, Bear weaves the story’s dynamics into the music itself; a cherished collaboration that still leaves me wonderstruck.“

McCreary is known for his out-of-the-box techniques to create the perfect sonic palette for the score.  His recent projects have featured unusual instruments (like the hurdy gurdy, Blaster Beam, and bagpipes) and sampled sounds (including manipulated versions of his three year-old daughter’s voice, a typewriter, and even an MRI machine). “When I saw the staggeringly scary robotic drones stampede towards Lee Pace in Joe Miale’s visceral sci-fi film REVOLT, I knew the score needed to be mechanical, pulsing and sonically distinct from anything I’d ever done,” said McCreary.  To achieve the perfect backdrop he “assembled an ‘orchestra’ of floppy disc drives, and worked with brilliant sound designer Jonathan Snipes, to get them to create sustained notes I could use in the score. Their chirping, guttural voices permeate the music, giving these killer robots a sense of devious human expression.”

EMMY®-winning composer Bear McCreary is one of the most sought-after talents in the industry today. In 2017, Bear had an impressive showing at Sundance with three films at the festival: Danny Strong’s drama REBEL IN THE RYE, the sci-fi thriller COLOSSAL starring Anne Hathaway, and Jennifer Brea’s documentary UNREST.  Some of McCreary’s other film credits include the critically-acclaimed Paramount Pictures and Bad Robot film, produced by J.J. Abrams, 10 CLOVERFIELD LANE, Universal/Blumhouse’s upcoming thriller HAPPY DEATH DAY, the animated feature ANIMAL CRACKERS, and Disney’s STEP UP 3D. His videogame credits include Sony PlayStation’s highly anticipated new GOD OF WAR.

McCreary burst onto the scene scoring the influential and revered series BATTLESTAR GALACTICA. His music for it was lauded by Variety as “innovative,” and “like no other” by NPR.  McCreary won an EMMY Award for Outstanding Main Title Theme for DA VINCI’S DEMONS. McCreary also received EMMY nominations for his work on BLACK SAILS, OUTLANDER, and HUMAN TARGET. He has twice been awarded “ASCAP Composer of the Year – Television” by his peers. He currently scores AMC’s record-shattering global phenomenon THE WALKING DEAD, as well as MARVEL’S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D. McCreary frequently performs in concert throughout North America and Europe, including the Getty Center, the Hagen Philharmonic and Ballet in Germany, the Television Academy, and the Golden State Pops Orchestra. In July 2014, Maestro Gustavo Dudamel conducted a suite of McCreary’s music with the L.A. Philharmonic and L.A. Master Chorale at the Hollywood Bowl.

Voltage Pictures presents REVOLT is in theaters in select cities on November 17, 2017.  Lakeshore Records and Sparks & Shadows will release the REVOLT – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK digitally on October 13, 2017.


1. Theme from Revolt
2. Cornered
3. Join This Fight
4. Satellite Symbol
5. Poachers
6. The Photographer’s Wife
7. Boneyard
8. An Awesome American Car
9. Stampede
10. Resist
11. Underground
12. Death in the Tunnels
13. Emp
14. New Memories