Featuring Original Music By Mark Kilian

Lakeshore Records will release the REPENTANCE – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on November 11, 2014, and on CD January 13, 2015.  The album features original music by Mark Kilian (SEAL TEAM 8: BEHIND ENEMY LINES, TSOTSI).  The film, a psychological thriller starring Oscar® winner Forest Whitaker, Anthony Mackie, Mike Epps, Nicole Ari Parker and Sanaa Lathan, was released by Lionsgate’s (NYSE: LGF) Codeblack Films earlier this year.

“What the filmmakers wanted was that the duality of the main character be a main theme in the score,” explained Kilian. “We wanted to pull you in to Forest Whitaker’s character, Angel, and to feel sympathy for him before the character takes a turn into a darker and creepier rendition.”

South African born Mark Kilian has had a successful and eclectic film-scoring career since moving to Los Angeles in 1994. He is most known for his ethnic-flavored scores like the Oscar winning TSOTSI, TRAITOR, RENDITION and BLESS ME, ULTIMA. His most recent scores include REVENGE OF THE GREEN DRAGONS, TRUST ME, PITCH PERFECT, SEAL TEAM 8: BEHIND ENEMY LINES and John Carpenter’s THE WARD. His TV work includes HBO’s 41, ABC’s KILLER WOMEN and DAYBREAK. He has also written music for many TV commercials including Apple, Toyota, Budweiser and American Express. He has 3 albums out under the name ‘The Gravy Street,’ which have received airplay in Los Angeles.

Oscar® winner Forest Whitaker (Best Actor, THE LAST KING OF SCOTLAND, 2006) leads an all-star cast as a mentally unstable man whose delusions target his spiritual advisor. The film also stars Anthony Mackie (CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER, THE HURT LOCKER), Mike Epps (THE HANGOVER PART III, upcoming NINA), Nicole Ari Parker (TV’s REVOLUTION TV’s REAL HUSBANDS OF HOLLYWOOD) and Sanaa Lathan (THE BEST MAN HOLIDAY, SOMETHING NEW).

An earnest life-coach/author, Thomas Carter (Mackie), is mysteriously abducted by a deranged client, Angel Sanchez (Whitaker), who delves into Thomas’ teachings and uses his spiritual messages of Karma – action and reaction, against him to terrorize him and his family for their past sins.

“The music is purposefully almost too warm and light in the beginning, perhaps even over sentimental,” Kilian described.  “Then the music switches gear dramatically bordering on horror, but of a more psychological nature. So when the change comes it is more shocking and visceral for the audience.”


1. Released
2. Through The Leg
3. Please Stay
4. Blindfolded
5. The Ritual
6. Let The Beauty In
7. In The Basement
8. Talking To Mom
9. Time To Share
10. Sacrifice
11. Cleansing
12. Nighttime Talk
13. She Said Goodbye
14. Texting
15. Take Your Pills
16. Yoga Class
17. Inevitable Reactions
18. The Note
19. I Was There With You
20. First Session
21. Broken Glass
22. Empty House
23. I’m Empty Inside
24. Three Captives
25. Reliving Regret
26. Breaking Loose
27. Can You Help Me