Original Music Composed by Mark Kilian

Lakeshore Records will release a soundtrack album for the action movie Lady Bloodfight. The album features the film’s original music composed by Mark Kilian (TsotsiEye in the SkyPitch PerfectRenditionTraitor). The soundtrack will be released digitally on September 30, 2016 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon.

Lady Bloodfight is directed by Chris Nahon and stars Amy Johnston, Jenny Wu, Kathy Wu and Jet Tranter. The movie centers around a beautiful but troubled American girl backpacking her way through Hong Kong who is recruited by a Wudang champion and trained to fight in the vicious, all-female, underground martial arts tournament known as “The Kumite. Jane is a beautiful but troubled American girl backpacking her way through Hong Kong. When she successfully fends off three thugs trying to rob her, it draws the attention of Shu, a Wudang champion, who is impressed by her raw street fighting abilities. Shu recruits Jane and trains her to fight in the vicious, all-female, underground martial arts tournament known as “The Kumite.” After months of rigorous preparation, Jane is ready to face off against the deadliest female fighters in the world, including Ling, the apprentice of Shu’s nemesis, Wai, a Shaolin master. Other nefarious forces also lie in the shadows, taking Jane on a journey through the gritty underworld of Hong Kong as she fights to be named the best female fighter in the world.

South African born Mark Kilian started his music career as a jazz pianist working in and around his homeland.  He played with the Brubecks, Shirley Bassey, Ladysmith Black Mambazo and Airto Moreira and also played some musical theater.  After completing a Bachelor of Music degree in Jazz Piano and a Masters Degree in Composition and Film Scoring in Durban, he headed for Los Angeles in 1994 where he attended USC’s graduate program Scoring for Motion Pictures and Television.  On completion of the program, lecturer and well-known film composer Christopher Young hired Mark where he got the opportunity to cut his teeth in and around the studios of LA learning about the art and business of film scoring.
Kilian scored his first feature LOVERGIRL in 1997 and has since had a successful and eclectic film scoring career. He is most known for his ethnic flavored scores like the Oscar winning TSOTSI, TRAITOR, RENDITION, BLESS ME ULTIMA, and BEFORE THE RAINS.  His most recent scores include REVENGE OF THE GREEN DRAGONS (executive produced by Martin Scorsese,) John Carpenter’s THE WARD, TRUST ME (Clark Gregg, Felicity Huffman, Sam Rockwell, William H Macy,) REPENTANCE (Forest Whitaker), and PITCH PERFECT for which he has a platinum album for soundtrack sales. His TV work includes HBO’s 41, ABC’s KILLER WOMEN and DAYBREAK. He has also written music for many TV commercials including Apple, Toyota, Budweiser, American Express and Microsoft. He has 3 albums out under the name The Gravy Street which have received airplay in Los Angeles and also 2 albums with the electronica duo Ape Quartet.  Kilian also did string arrangements for Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple) on his solo album Music For The Divine and a KCRW sponsored remix of an Ozomatli song with Anne Litt as well as music for the Getty exhibition The Aztec Pantheon

No release date has been announced yet for the Voltage Pictures production.


1. Main Titles
2. Raison d’Etre
3. Jane’s First Fight
4. Meet Ling
5. Jane Sweeps
6. Svietta Kills Ozzie
7. Jane Beats Up Hick
8. Father Question
9. I’ll Fight Ya
10. Weapon Round
11. Sweeping Auditions
12. The Final
13. I Do
14. Ling’s First Fight
15. Locker Room Meltdown
16. Recruiting Fighters
17. Svietta and Jane Fight
18. Kumite Arrival
19. We Need a Drink
20. Sang Confesses
21. Jane Tells Shu
22. Kumite Rules
23. Jane Visits Sang
24. Sang Done