Directed by Colin Theys, Deep In The Darkness follows the journey of Dr. Michael Cayle (Sean Patrick Thomas) who leaves the chaos of New York City for the quiet town of Ashborough, hoping to bring his family closer together. Soon after arriving, however, he discovers the town’s deepest secret: a terrifying and controlling race of creatures that live amongst the darkness in the woods behind his home.

After releasing Matthew Llewellyn’s Dead Souls two years ago, ScreamWorks Records  and Kronos Records teams up with the composer once more to unleash one of the year’s most impressive horror scores. Llewellyn’s sweeping, ominous music for Deep In The Darkness evokes classic drama and horror, combining traditional and contemporary orchestral textures. The score was recorded with the Slovakia National Symphony Orchestra.
Screamworks Records digital release of the score co-incides with the theatrical release of the film, and the CD release follows the airing of the film on Chiller (a division of NBC Universal).

Matthew Llewellyn’s musical background is grounded in the traditions of symphonic music for cinema as well as the modern movie making experience. He has been an integral member of composer Brian Tyler’s team working on high profile projects such as Iron Man 3Thor: The Dark World, Now You See Me, The Expendables 2, and Final Destination 5. As a composer Llewellyn wrote additional music for Far Cry 3 and John Dies At The End. He also provided musical arrangements for the video games Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. Branching out with his own composing career, Llewellyn has scored three feature films for the Chiller Network, a division of NBC Universal, including RemainsDead Souls and Deep In The Darkness.

SWR14009 • DEEP IN THE DARKNESS (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Release date (digital): April 29, 2014
Release date (CD): June 24, 2014


1 Deep in the Darkness 1:23
2 The Deighton Residence 2:27
3 Rise of the Isolates 1:39
4 Welcome to Ashborough 3:43
5 A Good Fit 2:17
6 Infiltrating the House 2:10
7 Don’t Trust Lady Zellis 1:30
8 You Can Protect Me 3:16
9 Eyes in the Distance 1:46
10 They’re Coming for You 1:31
11 Lauren Hunter Is Hunted 4:23
12 Black Light Beauty 2:03
13 It’s Too Late 2:27
14 Page Returns 2:09
15 Ashborough Assimilation 2:13
16 We’re Not Going Back 2:32
17 Make the Best of It 2:49
18 The Swarm 1:31
19 Crawling for Jessica 1:54
20 Back into the Light 2:23

View in iTunes

Via Moviescore Media and Kronos Records