Music Composed by JOHAN HOOGEWIJS
Release date (digital): March 18, 2014

MovieScore Media will release the exciting music from W. – Witse de Film, the feature-length
conclusion of the popular Belgian detective series of the same name. Starring Hubert
Damen as the titular investigator, Witse was an immensely influential crime procedural made
by VRT and broadcast on their één channel. The program ran for nine seasons between
2004-2012 and was followed by a literary franchise as well. Directed by Frank van
Mechelen, W. – Witse de Film takes the retired detective back to his roots as he tries to close
his career by finding the killer of his niece. MovieScore Media’s release follows the film’s
Belgian premiere on March 5, 2014.

Flemish composer Johan Hoogewijs studied piano and jazz in the conservatories of Leuven
and Liege before getting a job as a music editor / sound designer at the BRT (Belgian Radio
and Television). Since the 1980s, Hoogewijs has composed music for over 300 episodes of
various programs in addition to jingles and bumpers to the stations themselves. Apart from
scoring for television and film, the composer is also busy with writing dance music for
contemporary choreographers and he is also a passionate instructor of music at the Dutch
art school HKU-KM. This is our second release with the composer whose score for Life in
One Day was released by MovieScore Media in 2009.

Hoogewijs’ music for W. marks an impressive branching out from the medium of television
into the medium of film. As the main composer of the show, Hoogewijs was allowed to adapt
and conclude his own themes in a satisfying manner as Witse has to solve his toughest case
yet. Album highlights include the passionate “Between the Crosses” and “A Bridge Too Far”
which contains the score’s hallmark of nervous string patterns. The recording features live
strings conducted by Marc Steylaerts, piano solos by Kim Van den Brempt, timpani by Carlo
Willems with synths and additional piano parts performed by the composer himself.

Release date (digital): March 18, 2014


1 Between The Crosses 1:30
2 Unexpected Visit 1:52
3 Tracing Dax 1:57
4 Mortuary 1:56
5 Dreaming in Bed 0:54
6 Dicky’s Confession 2:38
7 Reunited 1:01
8 Repentance 1:05
9 Branded 2:48
10 Surprise 0:34
11 Here Comes Colette 1:41
12 Looking for Traces 1:29
13 Secretly 0:57
14 Obsession 1:02
15 Exhausted 1:31
16 Memories 1:16
17 W. as Bait 1:01
18 Dax Takes the Bait 0:53
19 Appointment at the Marketplace 2:39
20 Pictures on the Walls 1:03
21 Casino 2:06
22 Message from Dax 1:21
23 Photo Album 2:13
24 Lantern 0:40
25 A Bridge Too Far 1:34
26 Chained 2:27
27 Back to Brussels 2:40
28 Piano Improv 2:28

via Moviescore Media