Music Composed by ZACARÍAS M. DE LA RIVA

Coinciding with the film’s American premiere on September 4, MovieScore Media presents Zacarías M. de la Riva’s score for Un gallo con muchos huevos (Little Rooster’s Egg-cellent Adventure) – the first Mexican animated feature to receive a wide theatrical release in the United States. Distributed by Pantelion Films, the 3D animated adventure is written and directed by Gabriel Riva Palacio Alatriste who had previously directed Una película de huevos andOtra película de huevos y pollo, the precursors of this film which have been very popular in Mexico. The new chapter in the story follows the adventures of a timid young rooster named Toto (Bruno Bichir) who summons the courage to fight an evil rancher whose plans threaten to destroy his home.

The score for Un gallo con muchos huevos was written by Zacarías M. de la Riva, one of the most versatile talents of the Spanish film music scene. He has  proven himself to be talented in every genre he’s come across. Previous de la Riva scores issued by MovieScore Media include Gabe Ibáñez’ Automata (2014) and Hierro (2009), the cinema-themed murder mystery Imago Mortis (2009), the Indiana Jones-inspired animated adventure Tad: The Lost Explorer(2011).

Un gallo is at its core a story about overcoming our fears with humility and hard work and also about the value of friendship,” explains the composer, “so the music had to reflect those elements. Our main character Toto overcomes many obstacles to become a successful boxing-rooster, and it’s this story of self-improvement that is at the basis of the musical score (“Toto the Rooster”). Of course some of the music supports the comical parts with musical quotations and juxtaposition (“The Egg Godfather”). There were also a great deal of action sequences which required a suitably epic accompaniment (“League of the Egg Avengers”, “Attack of the Vultures”). For me, animation is one of the most challenging genres – Un gallo was no different. But it was a lot of fun!”


1 League of the Egg Avengers 3:27
2 Toto the Rooster 1:51
3 Start the Fight! 3:51
4 Don Poncho 1:55
5 It’s a Duck! 1:44
6 The Arena 3:25
7 Eggscent of a Woman 1:40
8 Attack of the Vultures 4:27
9 The Egg Godfather 1:43
10 Toto Ovowhelmed 1:52
11 I Fight to Win 1:34
12 Patín Patán 4:00
13 Entering Bankivoide 3:08
14 Yes You Can! 2:49
15 Find Your Inner Yolk 3:02
16 The Fight 5:22
17 Toto Lives 2:55
18 Little Rooster’s Egg-cellent Adventure 6:38