Back Lot Music will release the soundtrack for The Purge: Anarchy, Universal Pictures’ upcoming speculative thriller from writer/director James DeMonaco, on July 15, 2014, it was announced today.  The Purge: Anarchy Original Motion Picture Soundtrack features new music by Nathan Whitehead.  The film opens across the country on July 18, 2014.

“Scoring ‘The Purge: Anarchy’ was thrilling,” Whitehead comments.  “Everything is bigger this time; the action, drama and tension all take place on a much larger scale.  I worked hard to incorporate this larger scope in the music, and we went much further combining aggressive electronics and textures with a live orchestra.  It was such a satisfying challenge, and I hope my score delivers the intense experience that moviegoers are looking forward to having.”

The Purge: Anarchy, the sequel to summer 2013’s sleeper hit that opened to No. 1 at the box-office, sees the return of writer/director/producer James DeMonaco to craft the next terrifying chapter of dutiful citizens preparing for their country’s yearly 12 hours of anarchy.  Returning alongside DeMonaco to produce the sequel to 2013’s sleeper hit are Blumhouse Productions’ Jason Blum (Paranormal Activity and Insidious series), alongside Sébastien K. Lemercier (Assault on Precinct 13Four Lovers) and Platinum Dunes partners Michael Bay (Pain & GainTransformers franchise), Brad Fuller (The Amityville HorrorA Nightmare on Elm Street) and Andrew Form (The Texas Chainsaw MassacreFriday the 13th)

Read more here

About Nathan Whitehead

Nathan Whitehead is a composer for film, television and video games who scored The Purge in 2013.  Whitehead has collaborated with many of Hollywood’s top composers and has contributed music and arrangements to Desperate Housewives, Transformers: Dark of the Moon and Gears of War: Judgment among others.  Whitehead began his career in Hollywood working for a film sound design company by day and feverishly writing music at night and on weekends.  This eventually led to writing additional music and arrangements for several film and video game projects including Pride and Glory, Epic Mickey, Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time, Your Highness and the two latest installments in the Gears of War franchise.


  1. Don’t Do This
  2. Pictures
  3. Unlock The Car
  4. Did You Get The Raise?
  5. Driving
  6. Commencement
  7. Foot Trap
  8. Diego
  9. Two For Big Daddy
  10. I’m Doing God’s Work
  11. I’ll Be A Martyr
  12. New Rule
  13. He Stole Our Pensions, Now He’s Gone
  14. Subway
  15. Running
  16. Money
  17. Hunting Grounds
  18. I’m Sorry
  19. This Is Our Time Now
  20. Better Citizens
  21. A Nation Reborn
  22. Please, Let Us Take Care Of You