MovieScore Media releases Rob Simonsen’s music for the taboo-breaking documentary The Final Member by Jonah Bekhor and Zach Math. The filmmakers guide you to Husavik, Iceland, home of the world’s only museum devoted to painstakingly preserved male genitalia. Founded and curated by Sigurður Hjartarson, the Icelandic Phallological Museum houses four decades worth of mammalian members, from a petite field mouse to the colossal sperm whale, and every “thing” in between. But, lamentably, Siggi’s collection lacks the holy grail of phallic phantasmagoria: a human specimen. Siggi’s world changes dramatically when he receives generous offers from an elderly Icelandic Casanova and an eccentric American…

The music carefully balances between comedy and drama to help the audience get the right emotional response from a film whose tone shifts from the ludicrous to the poignantly eleagic in a matter of minutes. You can hear the wide variety of musical ground covered in cues like the lightbut propulsive “The Final Member”, the epic “Arason the Pioneer”, the melancholic “Tom’s Confession” or the elegantly eccentric “Pall’s Waltz” – all of which bring you closer to the impossible world of phallic curator ”Siggi” Hjartarson.

The delightfully eccentric musical score for The Final Member is provided by Rob Simonsen, a regular collaborator of Mychael Danna on such high-profile films as Little Miss Sunshine (2006),Moneyball (2011) or the Oscar-winning Life of Pi (2012). As a composer, Rob’s filmography also includes such impressive titles as his debut score for the Medieval fantasy Westender (2003), the Steve Carell / Keira Knightley end-of-the-world dramedy Seeking a Friend for the End of the World (2012) or the two coming-of-age comedy sensations The Spectacular Now and (2013) and The Way Way Back (2013) – both of which made the composer a nominee for that year’s Discovery of the Year at the World Soundtrack Awards.

MMS14024 • THE FINAL MEMBER (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Music Composed by ROB SIMONSEN
Release date (digital): April 22, 2014


1 The Final Member 2:23
2 Iceland and the Museum 2:48
3 Arason the Pioneer 1:44
4 The Icelandic Society of Phallology 1:28
5 Facing the Obstacles 2:44
6 Shrinkage 1:53
7 Legal Length 1:07
8 Cliff’s Edge 1:42
9 Plan B 1:06
10 Pall’s Waltz 1:55
11 Tom’s Confession 2:11
12 Turned to Dust 1:44
13 The Journey to Acuary 3:40
14 It’s the Little Things 3:38
15 Complete 2:36

View in iTunes