Music Composed by DARIUS HOLBERT

MovieScore Media continues its ongoing exploration of remarkable documentary scores with Darius Holbert’s award-winning music for The Crest. Written by Mick Carney and directed by Mark Christopher Covino, the film tells the story of two descendants of an Irish king journey to an island where he once presided-not to reclaim the land, but to surf the waves. Mixing Celtic and pop influences into an addictive crossover soundtrack, the music by Darius Holbert has been selected as the best score in numerous film festivals, including the 2017 Los Angeles Film Awards and and the 2017 Barcelona Planet Film Festival.

The Crest is one of my all-time favorite films with which I’ve been involved” says composer Darius Holbert about the documentary. “Because the main theme of the film is the past meeting the present, we wanted a score that reflected both the traditional and the modern. I used Irish instrumentation like uilleann pipes, bodhrán and other percussion, and – since it’s a central figure in the narrative – the Irish fiddle (played beautifully by Paul Jacob Cartwright at my studio in Los Angeles). I then layered contemporary synth sounds, guitar stutters, and a slew of various modern effects. I’m incredibly proud of the score that we put together; I think it’s one of my best to date, and functions really well with this story about how our today is inextricably linked to our past.”

Darius Holbert’s versatile career includes being a songwriter, a touring and recording musician besides writing music for movies. He has composed music for numerous films including Hobo with a Shotgun, Old 37 and Peter Berg’s HBO documentary Trophy Kids. DArius has also contributed original music to Cedar RapidsShrink, and World’s Greatest Dad, as well as TV series such as American Horror StoryGrey’s AnatomyAmerican Idol and Crash.

Release date (digital): June 21, 2019


1 The Crest Theme 6:08
2 Call 1:48
3 The Blaskets 1:54
4 Family 1:00
5 History 1:33
6 Rose of Traiee 3:47
7 Islanders 1:08
8 Travelers 2:52
9 Our People 1:40
10 Found Home 1:23
11 Ancestors 3:01
12 Transitions 3:54
13 New and Old 1:58
14 Water 0:13
15 Rose Reprise 3:03
16 Passage 3:27
17 Beginnings 2:05
18 Movement 4:10
19 The Island 9:06
20 Brave 0:27
21 End Titles 3:02