Featuring Original Music by Alexandre Desplat

Back Lot Music will release SUFFRAGETTE – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally and on CD October 23, 2015. The album features an original score from the Academy Award®-winning composer Alexandre Desplat (THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL, THE KING’S SPEECH).

“I’d wanted to work with Alexandre Desplat for many years,” said SUFFRAGETTE director Sarah Gavron. “I think he’s got the ability to do something that always feels new, interesting, fresh, and not sentimental. He really responded to the story of the Suffragettes.”

Oscar-winning composer Alexandre Desplat is one of the most sought-after film composers in the world today. Desplat is noted for his collaborations with some of the world’s top filmmakers: Wes Anderson, George Clooney, Stephen Daldry, David Fincher, Stephen Frears, Tom Hooper, Ang Lee, Terrence Malick, Roman Polanski, and Angelina Jolie, to name a few.

Desplat first captivated American ears with THE GIRL WITH THE PEARL EARRING and BIRTH. The Golden Globe and Oscar winner has since scored a range of incredible films, garnering Oscar nominations for THE QUEEN, THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON, FANTASTIC MR. FOX, THE KING’S SPEECH, ARGO, PHILOMENA, THE IMITATION GAME, and THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL which won him the 2015 Oscar for Best Original Score.

Coming up next for Desplat is THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS directed by Derek Cianfrance and starring Michael Fassbender, and his second collaboration with Tom Hooper (following THE KING’S SPEECH), THE DANISH GIRL, starring Eddie Redmayne and Alicia Vikander.

“For SUFFRAGETTE, Alexandre came up with an idea of having this heartbeat, so to speak, going through it,” Gavron explained. “It works on a number of levels for our themes and ideas.”

Academy Award® nominees Carey Mulligan and Helena Bonham Carter, and three-time Academy Award® winner Meryl Streep, lead the cast of SUFFRAGETTE, a powerful drama about the women who were willing to lose everything in their fight for equality in early-20th-century Britain. The stirring story centers on Maud (played by Carey Mulligan), a working wife and mother whose life is forever changed when she is secretly recruited to join the U.K.’s growing Suffragette movement. Galvanized by the outlaw fugitive Emmeline Pankhurst (Meryl Streep), Maud becomes an activist for the cause alongside women from all walks of life. When increasingly aggressive police action forces Maud and her dedicated fellow Suffragettes underground, they engage in a dangerous game of cat-and-mouse with the authorities, who are shocked as the women’s civil disobedience escalates and sparks debate across the nation. Inspired by true events, SUFFRAGETTE is a moving drama exploring the passion and heartbreak of those who risked all they had for women’s right to vote – their jobs, their homes, their children, and even their lives. The cast of SUFFRAGETTE also includes Brendan Gleeson, Anne-Marie Duff, Ben Whishaw, Romola Garai, and Natalie Press.

Gavron notes, “We had the idea of a big-scale score that gave you a sense of the drama and the action, but we also wanted to enhance the intimate moments which were just about the interactions between Maud and her son, or Maud and her husband, or a few of the women together.

“I was very keen that the film felt on all sorts of levels very real and visceral and connected.  I wanted the audience to feel like they were walking through those streets with Maud and the other women, that the world felt very believable. An important function of the music was to chart the emotional journey, but also reflect the suspense and urgency of those big set pieces where dozens of women were putting themselves in danger because of their activism.”

Focus Features will release SUFFRAGETTE in New York and Los Angeles on October 23, 2015; in October 30, 2015 in additional cities; and across the country in November 2015. SUFFRAGETTE – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available digitally and on CD October 23, 2015.


1. Suffragette
2. An Army
3. Beaten
4. Hope
5. Demonstration
6. Abuse
7. Surveillance
8. Prison
9. Force-Fed
10. Bombings
11. Plotting
12. Child Taken
13. Votes for Women
14. Dreaming of Equity
15. Epsom Derby
16. Legacy