Featuring Original Music By John Debney

Lakeshore Records will release the STONEHEARST ASYLUM – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on October 14th and on CD November 11, 2014. The album features original music by John Debney (Sin City, The Passion Of The Christ).

“Brad Anderson is such a brilliant director and great collaborator. We spoke at length about the type of score that he wanted, which was a ‘rich, thematic and classic sounding score,’” said Debney.  “The love theme had to be a bit sad yet utterly and unapologetically romantic and sweeping,” for example.

Academy Award-nominated John Debney seemed destined for a career in Hollywood. The son of Disney Studios producer Louis Debney (Zorro, The Mickey Mouse Club), Debney grew up in nearby Glendale, where he began guitar lessons at age six and played in rock bands in college. After college, he entered into the business with the help of Motion Picture composing legend Mike Post (The Rockford Files, Law And Order). Debney furthered his hands-on training by working with Hanna-Barbera composer Hoyt Curtin. He began scoring Motion Picture projects as diverse as Star Trek: The Next Generation, A Pup Named Scooby-Doo and Sea Quest DSV, for which he won an Emmy for Best Main Title. In 1993 he secured his first studio feature film, the Disney comedy Hocus Pocus starring Bette Midler.

Although Debney had built an industry reputation as a talented film composer, with films as The Princess Diaries 1&2 , Raising Helen, Spy Kids 1&2, Elf, and Bruce Almighty, it was in 2004 that the rest of the world discovered him. Blending symphonic orchestra, a wide range of world instruments and the beauty of the human voice, Debney’s landmark score for The Passion Of The Christ would earn him an Academy Award nomination, a Gold record and a Dove award.

John Debney continues to receive accolades for his outstanding work. Last year, he received a Prime Time Emmy nomination for his work on the miniseries Hatfields And Mccoys.  In 2005, he became the youngest recipient of ASCAP’s prestigious Henry Mancini Lifetime Achievement Award.  Debney has again broken new ground composing for the videogames Lair (2007) and The Sims Medieval (2011).  His Lair music was nominated for a BAFTA and he was awarded Best Videogame Score by The International Film Music Critics Association. John Debney’s recent accomplishments include scoring the Steve Jobs biopic Jobs.  His recent projects include Houdini, Draft Day and Walk Of Shame, all of which feature soundtracks on Lakeshore Records.

When young doctor Edward Newgate (Jim Sturgess) arrives at Stonehearst Asylum in search of an apprenticeship, he is warmly welcomed by superintendent Dr. Lamb (Ben Kingsley) and a mesmerizing woman by the name of Eliza Graves (Kate Beckinsale). Edward is intrigued by Lamb’s modern methods of treating the insane until a series of unusual events leads him to make a horrifying discovery, exposing Lamb’s utopia and pushing Edward to the limits of his conscience. Inspired by a short story from Edgar Allan Poe, STONEHEARST ASYLUM is a tale in which nobody is who or what they appear to be.

“I guess I always fall in love with heroines, and my job was to represent in music, the love at first sight aspect of the story,” said Debney. “This was crucial because it puts into motion all the events in the film. The love is theme is in fact: Eliza’s theme and is the theme we hear when Edward sees Eliza for the first time.”

“The other main theme was the theme for the psychopathic killer,” Debney continued.  “Brad quite liked the dark and a bit quirky sound of the bass and contra bass Clarinet which was a dark hint at the dark soul of our killer. And yet, it is also darkly humorous. I loved that Brad wanted to express the dark and yet oft times absurd nature of events at the asylum. I thought this a keen and clever idea.”

Millennium Films presents STONEHEARST ASYLUM, in theaters on October 24, 2014.  The STONEHEARTS ASYLUM – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on Lakeshore Records, will be released digitally on October 14th and on CD November 11, 2014.


1. Eliza’s Theme
2. Opening
3. Eliza’s Story
4. Wagon Ride
5. Seeing the Asylum
6. Edward Enters Asylum
7. Eliza Plays
8. Eliza Warns Edward / Secret Passage
9. We Are Not Crazy
10. Dangerous Liaison
11. Lamb Gives a Tour
12. Edward Meets Timm
13. Edward Meets Eliza
14. The Chase
15. The Doctor’s Story
16. Edward’s Plea to Eliza
17. Shock Therapy
18. Danse Macabre Saint Saens
19. Edward Searches / Finn Kills Millie
20. Eliza Finds Dead Millie / Inmates Revelry
21. Bonfire / Edward Prepares
22. Finn/Edward Fight
23. Countdown
24. Strapped To Gurney / Edward Confesses
25. Electrocution / Lamb’s Story Revealed
26. Finn Catches Fire / Escape
27. Aftermath / First Kiss
28. I Am Dr. Newgate!
29. Edward’s Story
30. Eliza’s Waltz
31. Eliza and Edward