Featuring Original Music Composed By Michael Giacchino

Varèse Sarabande has announced their latest CD Club title – the release of STAR TREK BEYOND – The Deluxe Edition on CD today.  The limited edition 2-CD set (limited 5000 units) features original music composed by Michael Giacchino (DOCTOR STRANGE, ZOOTOPIA, ROGUE ONE: A STAR WARS STORY).  The standard version of the STAR TREK BEYOND soundtrack was released on vinyl last week.

In conjunction the 50th anniversary of the entire Star Trek universe, Varèse Sarabande is excited to present this expanded 2-CD Deluxe Edition featuring over two hours of Michael Giacchino’s epic STAR TREK BEYOND score.  “To me it feels like an episode of the original series, but on a much grander scale. The crew is now on their five-year mission embarking on a completely new emotional journey than we have previously seen,” said Giacchino.  “It’s been a chance to create a new musical landscape for the film that reflects both hope and exploration.”

STAR TREK BEYOND, the latest installment in the globally popular Star Trek franchise, created by Gene Roddenberry and reintroduced by J.J. Abrams in 2009, returns with director Justin Lin (The Fast and the Furious franchise) at the helm of this epic voyage of the U.S.S. Enterprise and her intrepid crew. In Beyond, the Enterprise crew explores the furthest reaches of uncharted space, where they encounter a mysterious new enemy who puts them and everything the Federation stands for to the test.

Composer Michael Giacchino has credits that feature some of the most popular and acclaimed film projects in recent years including ZOOTOPIA, INSIDE OUT, JURASSIC WORLD, DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES, THE INCREDIBLES, RATATOUILLE, and MISSION IMPOSSIBLE: GHOST PROTOCOL. Giacchino’s 2009 score for the Pixar hit UP earned him an Oscar®, a Golden Globe®, the BAFTA, the Broadcast Film Critics’ Choice Award and two GRAMMY® Awards.

Giacchino began his filmmaking career at the age of 10 in his backyard in Edgewater Park, New Jersey, and eventually went on to study filmmaking at the School of Visual Arts in NYC. After college, he landed a marketing job at Disney and began studies in music composition, first at Juilliard and then at UCLA. From marketing, he became a producer in the fledgling Disney Interactive Division where he had the opportunity to write music for video games.

After moving to a producing job at the newly formed DreamWorks Interactive Division, he was asked to score the temp track for the video game adaptation of The Lost World: Jurassic Park. Subsequently, Steven Spielberg hired him as the composer and it became the first PlayStation game to have a live orchestral score. Giacchino continued writing for video games and became well known for his Medal of Honor scores. Giacchino’s work in video games sparked the interest of J.J. Abrams, and thus began their long-standing relationship that would lead to scores for the hit television series Alias and Lost, and the feature films MISSION IMPOSSIBLE III, SUPER 8, STAR TREK and STAR TREK INTO THE DARKNESS.

Additional projects include collaborations with Disney Imagineering on music for Space Mountain, Star Tours (with John Williams) and the Ratatouille ride in Disneyland Paris. Giacchino also was the musical director of the 81st Annual Academy Awards®. His music can be heard in concert halls internationally with STAR TREK, STAR TREK INTO THE DARKNESS and RATATOUILLE films being performed live-to-picture with a full orchestra. STAR TREK BEYOND, directed by Justin Lin, marks Giacchino’s third film in the franchise. Also, he recently scored Colin Trevorrow’s THE BOOK OF HENRY and his first Marvel film, DOCTOR STRANGE, helmed by Scott Derrickson. Giacchino serves as the Governor of the Music Branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and sits on the advisory board of Education Through Music Los Angeles.

(Limited Edition of 5000 Copies Will Be Sold)


1. Logo And Prosper (1:47)
2. Trick Or Treaty (:45)
3. We Come In Pieces (1:17)
4. Thank Your Lucky Star Date (2:14)
5. Night On The Yorktown (5:36)
6. To Thine Own Death Be True (3:32)
7. We Make A Good Team (:22)
8. The Dance Of The Nebula (2:22)
9. A Swarm Reception (2:30)
10. Karl Hell Breaks Loose (3:04)
11. The Evacuation Variations (2:47)
12. Hitting The Saucer A Little Hard (6:10)
13. Scotland’s Worst Cliffhanger (:23)
14. A Hive And Kicking (3:30)
15. Port Of Krall (:52)
16. Taylah Damage (2:50)
17. No Enterprise For Guessing (:37)
18. In Artifacts As In Life (1:51)
19. She’s One Hell Of A Dish (1:26)
20. Make No Escape About It (2:04)
21. Eat My Thrusters (3:56)
22. The Krall Of The Wild (2:10)
23. Spock’s Vulcan Grip On Death (1:31)
24. Captain On Ice (:42)
1. Franklin, My Dear (2:50)
2. Transporting Good Time (3:43)
3. Krall Work And No Play (:37)
4. A Lesson in Vulcan Mineralogy (5:17)
5. The Cost Of Abronath (2:35)
6. MotorCycles Of Relief (3:18)
7. Mocking Taylah (3:27)
8. Taylah House Rock (3:18)
9. Bright Lights Big Velocity (Part 1) (:57)
10. Bright Lights Big Velocity (Part 2) (2:59)
11. Spock Speaks Hive (3:10)
12. Crash Decisions (3:16)
13. Krall-y Krall-y Oxen Free (4:23)
14. Shutdown Happens (4:35)
15. The Root Of Krall Evil (1:31)
16. Cater-Krall In Zero G (2:17)
17. The Dreaded Rear Admiral (2:02)
18. Par-tay For The Course (2:46)
19. Space, The Final Frontier / Main On Ends (2:42)
20. Jaylah’s Theme (2:36)
21. Yorktown Theme (4:32)
22. Star Trek Main Theme* (3:44)
23. Karl Things Being Equal (4:25)