Music Composed by MARK ISHAM

MovieScore Media presents, for the first time, a gripping score by veteran Hollywood composer Mark Isham. Directed by Gabriela Cowperthwaite and based on a true story, Megan Leavey doesn’t venture far from the filmmaker’s strength of telling true stories about the complicated relationship between humans and animals. The film takes its viewers behind the frontlines of the Iraq war in a fascinating true story of the titular Marine corporal and her military combat dog Rex as they save several lives during their deployments to Fallujah and Ramadi. The film stars Kate Mara (House of CardsFant4stic Four) as Megan Leavey, who proves that the bond between two-legged and four-legged creatures can be as strong as any camaraderie between soldiers.

Megan Leavey is a heartwarming story that has many layers of drama and emotion,” says composer Mark Isham about his contributions to the film. “It needed a score that could move quickly from warm humor to dramatic battle scenes, dark tragedy to heroic triumph. I chose a vocabulary that is basically ‘Americana’ in style and sound. Guitar based, indie rock at the center, with chamber symphony and ethnic percussion added to fill out the story and images. Several themes evolve and intermingle over the course of the score. It is eclectic but structurally sound.”

Jazz trumpeter and composer Mark Isham has been active in the world of feature film scoring since the 1980s – his selected credits include cult films like The Hitcher and Point Break, action classics like Blade as well as collaborations with filmmakers like Robert Redford (Quiz Show) Brian De Palma (The Black Dahlia) and Paul Haggis (Crash).  In 1992, Isham was nominated for an Academy Award for his score for Robert Redford’s A River Runs Through It. More recently Isham has been busy in the world of television with seven seasons of the hit ABC series Once Upon a Time and Marvel’s Cloak and Dagger as well as selected episodes of anthology shows like Black Mirror and Electric Dreams.

Release date (digital): December 7, 2018
Release date (CD): TBC (Quartet Records)


1 Life Before 2:19
2 Trouble 1:56
3 Ramadi 2:44
4 Service and Deployment 4:42
5 Training 1:58
6 Welcome Aboard 1:32
7 IED 2:54
8 Getting Ready 2:28
9 Recon 2:58
10 Surveillance 3:18
11 Hospital 2:11
12 School Battle 3:29
13 Goodbye 2:32
14 Reunion and Phone Calls 3:28
15 Homecoming 2:19
16 Petitions and Interviews 2:32
17 Adoption 3:32
18 Yankee Stadium 1:59