Celebrating 35 Years Since their First Collaboration,
MAPS TO THE STARS Is The 15th David Cronenberg Film To Feature Music by Howard Shore

Howe Records is pleased to announce the release of the MAPS TO THE STARS – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, available in stores and digitally on September 9, 2014.  MAPS TO THE STARS marks the fifteenth feature film collaboration between director David Cronenberg and composer Howard Shore.
Winner of the 2014 Cannes Soundtrack Award this past May, MAPS TO THE STARS was given the award for the original score best suited to a feature film in official competition by a jury of 15 critics.
“Shore delivers one of his best scores yet… a menacing undertow that picks up on some of the ethnic, New Age sounds of the world it depicts, but shifts them into Clockwork Orange territory,” said Lee Marshall of Screen Daily.

The film MAPS TO THE STARS connects the savage beauty of writer Bruce Wagner’s Los Angeles with the riveting filmmaking of director David Cronenberg and a stellar ensemble cast to take a tour into the darkly comic heart of a Hollywood family chasing celebrity, one another and the relentless ghosts of their pasts. The result is a modern Hollywood Gothic at once about the ravenous 21st Century need for fame and validation — and the yearning, loss and fragility that lurk in the shadows underneath. The film stars Julianne Moore, Mia Wasikowska, Olivia Williams, Sarah Gadon, Evan Bird, John Cusack, and Robert Pattinson.

Academy Award®-winning composer Howard Shore is among today’s most respected, honored, and active composers and conductors. He began collaborating with David Cronenberg with 1979’s THE BROOD, and has since scored 15 of the director’s films: THE BROOD, SCANNERS, VIDEODROME, THE FLY, DEAD RINGERS, NAKED LUNCH, M. BUTTERFLY, CRASH, eXistenZ, SPIDER, A HISTORY OF VIOLENCE, EASTERN PROMISES, A DANGEROUS METHOD, and COSMOPOLIS.  
In addition to his work with Cronenberg, Shore’s credits include THE LORD OF THE RINGS, HUGO, THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, PHILADELPHIA, THE DEPARTED and THE AVIATOR to name a few.  His upcoming film projects include ROSEWATER, Jon Stewart’s directorial debut, and the final film from THE HOBBIT film trilogy, THE HOBBIT: THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES.
Later this fall, in celebration of the 35th anniversary of Howard Shore’s collaboration with David Cronenberg, Howe Records will also release expanded collector’s editions of the soundtracks for CRASH, NAKED LUNCH and DEAD RINGERS.
Entertainment One will present MAPS TO THE STARS, which receives its North American premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September, at the New York Film Festival at the end of September and in advance of a fall North American release. The MAPS TO THE STARS Original Motion Picture Soundtrack from Howe Records will be available in stores and digitally on September 9, 2014.


1. Greyhound

2. Set Me Free

3. Stolen Waters

4. Wildfire

5.  A Little Crazy

6. Walk of Fame

7. Fire And Water

8. Asylum Corridor

9. Brother And Sister

10. Secrets Kill

11. Burn Out

12. Love Is Stronger Than Death

13. I’m Sorry

14. I Write Your Name

15. Liberty

16. Blanket of Stars