Lakeshore Records To Release MANH(A)TTAN Soundtrack

The album features selections from the original music from the show’s first season composed by Sigur Rós front man Jónsi & Alex Somers. Also included is music from the drama’s second season composed by Jeff Russo (Fargo) and Zoe Keating.

Time Magazine calls MANH(A)TTAN  “a fascinating twist on the disparate-soldiers-thrown-together-in-a-foxhole war story.”  Set against the backdrop of the greatest race against time in the history of science – the mission to build the world’s first atomic bomb in Los Alamos, N.M.  MANH(A)TTAN follows the project’s brilliant but flawed scientists and their families as they attempt to co-exist in a world where secrets and lies infiltrate every aspect of their lives.  The critically-lauded drama, which is produced by Lionsgate Television, Skydance Television and Tribune Studios, is in its second season on WGN America and streams on Hulu.

The ensemble cast includes Tony®-winning and Emmy®-nominated actor John Benjamin Hickey, Olivia Williams, Ashley Zukerman, Rachel Brosnahan, Katja Herbers, Helen Prins, Alexia Fast, Christopher Denham, Harry Lloyd, Michael Chernus and Daniel Stern. Multiple Emmy® and Golden Globe® nominee William Petersen joined the cast as a regular for season two, which also features Mamie Gummer and Griffin Dunne, among others, in recurring roles.  Created and written by Sam Shaw (“Masters of Sex”) and directed by Emmy® Award-winning director Thomas Schlamme (“The West Wing”), MANH(A)TTAN is executive produced by Sam Shaw, Thomas Schlamme, David Ellison, Dana Goldberg, Marcy Ross and Dustin Thomason.  The series is filmed on location in New Mexico.

Jónsi & Alex have been making music together since 2003 when they first met in Boston, USA. Things ramped up in 2005 when Alex moved to Reykjavík, Iceland, and the pair started to create the visual art that would form the basis of their limited edition hardback book, Riceboy Sleeps in 2006. They continued to make music at home in the periods between Jónsi’s touring and studio commitments with Sigur Rós, slowly building the substantial body of work that now forms the album Riceboy Sleeps.

Jónsi previously scored Cameron Crowe’s WE BOUGHT A ZOO in 2011 – which was produced by Alex.  This is their first foray into composing for television.

EMMY®- and GRAMMY®-nominated musician, Jeff Russo has become a prominent composer, songwriter and arranger in the film and television industry. Jeff composed the music for FX’s Emmy and Golden Globe-winning series, FARGO for which he received an Emmy nomination.  He has since scored the second season of the series, as well as Starz’s original drama POWER, from executive producer Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson.  He recently scored Spike’s TUT, starring Ben Kingsley, and is currently co-composing the music for CBS’s latest CSI franchise, CSI: CYBER.  Russo is slated to begin work on the upcoming HBO mini-series, CRIME, starring John Turturro, and indie film BEHOLD MY HEART, starring Timothy Olyphant and Marisa Tomei.

In addition to composing music for film and television, Jeff still plays music with his rock band.  He is a founding member, lead guitarist and co-songwriter of two-time GRAMMY®-nominated, multi-platinum selling rock band, TONIC.  Their debut album, “Lemon Parade,” posted three singles in the U.S. Mainstream rock charts’ Top 10, with “If You Could Only See,” rocketing to number one.  In 2003, the band received two GRAMMY® nominations, one for “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” for “Take Me As I Am,” and one for “Best Rock Album.”

Jeff co-composed the score for CBS’s television mini-series drama, HOSTAGES, starring Dylan McDermott and Toni Collette, and wrote the original score for USA Network’s NECESSARY ROUGHNESS, starring Callie Thorne, Marc Blucas and John Stamos.  In 2013, he also worked on several feature films, including Shoreline Entertainment’s WATERCOLOR POSTCARDS, starring Laura Bell Bundy, and the independent feature, FREE RIDE, starring Anna Paquin, Cam Gigandet and Drea de Mateo.  MANH(A)TTAN marks his second collaboration with Zoë Keating – they have also collaborated on A&E Network’s THE RETURNED.

Cellist and composer Zoë Keating is a one-woman orchestra. She uses a cello and a foot-controlled laptop to record layer upon layer of cello, creating intricate, haunting and compelling music. Zoë is known for both her use of technology – which she uses to sample her cello onstage – and for her DIY approach, releasing her music online without the help of a record label.

Born in Canada and a cellist since the age of eight, Zoë pursued electronic music and contemporary composition as part of her Liberal Arts studies at Sarah Lawrence College in New York. After graduation she moved to San Francisco. Unemployed following the dot-com crash of 2001, Zoë used her year off to focus on music, eventually combining the cello and the computer to develop her signature style of live-layered music. She began composing music for small films and experimental theater projects and performing for late night crowds in the San Francisco warehouse where she lived with other artists.

Now, Zoë has a devoted, global audience. Her self-released albums have several times reached #1 on the iTunes classical chart, she has over 1 million followers on Twitter and her grassroots approach and artists’ advocacy has garnered her much public attention and press. Zoë has composed music for ballet, theater, film and radio and lends her music regularly to film, TV, dance productions and commercials.  As a cellist, Zoë has played and recorded with a wide range of artists, including Imogen Heap, Amanda Palmer, Tears for Fears, DJ Shadow, Dan Hicks, Thomas Dolby, John Vanderslice, Rasputina, Pomplamoose and Paolo Nutini.

The MANH(A)TTAN Soundtrack Will Be Available Digitally on January 8
and on CD in early 2016

Produced by Lionsgate Television, Skydance Television and Tribune Studios,
the Critically-Acclaimed Drama Series Airs on WGN America and Streams on Hulu


1. Manhattan Main Title – Jónsi & Alex
2. Arrival at Los Alamos – Jónsi & Alex
3. Don’t Have Time for This S**t – Jónsi & Alex
4. Building an Atomic Bomb – Jónsi & Alex
5. There’s Something I Need to Tell You – Jónsi & Alex
6. Lost Time Is Never Found Again – Jónsi & Alex
7. End Credits 102 – Jónsi & Alex
8. Crosley’s Letter – Jónsi & Alex
9. I Handle the Camera – Jónsi & Alex
10. Nuclear Babies – Jónsi & Alex
11. The Fog of War – Jónsi & Alex
12. Frank Gets an Idea – Jónsi & Alex
13. What Do You Want Right Now? – Jónsi & Alex
14. Charlie’s Speech – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
15. Meeks Climbs the Tower – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
16. Fresh off the Boat – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
17. Take the Job –  Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
18. Changes in the Tech Area – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
19. Phone Call with Jean – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
20. Things Are Coming to a Finish – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
21. Dawn of the Atomic Age – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating