tumblr_inline_ntmb35AGDu1qmcog3_500 (1)

Featuring Original Music By Jeff Beal

Varèse Sarabande Records will release a 2-CD HOUSE OF CARDS: SEASON 3 – Original Netflix Series Soundtrack digitally on September 11 and on disc October 2, 2015.  The soundtrack features original score composed by Jeff Beal (MONK, THE DOVEKEEPERS).  The HOUSE OF CARDS season 1 and season 2 soundtracks are also available from Varèse Sarabande.

Award-winning composer Jeff Beal scores HOUSE OF CARDS, the Emmy® and Golden Globe®-winning original series, starring Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright. The show debuted in February of 2013 as Netflix’s first original series, unprecedentedly releasing all 13 episodes of Season One at the same time, generating worldwide attention for the bold new approach to the television model.

“Beau Willimon felt season three was all about President Underwood needing to govern,” said Beal. “The energy of those storylines, such as America Works, and the Middle East negotiations with the Russian President Petrovhad their own sound.”

In Season 3 President Underwood fights to secure his legacy. Claire wants more than being the first lady. The biggest threat they face is contending with each other. This Emmy®-winning original thriller series stars Golden Globe® winner Kevin Spacey as ruthless and cunning Francis Underwood, who will stop at nothing to conquer the halls of power in Washington D.C. His secret weapon: his gorgeous, ambitious and equally conniving wife Claire (Golden Globe® winner Robin Wright).

Playing both the trumpet and the piano on the show’s main title theme, Beal sets the tone for the central themes of power, greed and manipulation on HOUSE OF CARDS.  A lauded EMMY award-winning composer, Jeff Beal is a member of a new generation of passionate and talented composers. A graduate of the Eastman School of Music, Beal received his first national attention while in college as the recipient of an unprecedented 11 “db” awards from Downbeat Magazine for his recordings as a jazz trumpeter, composer, and arranger.  Beal has been conducting film music concerts of his works both nationally and internationally including a suite from HOUSE OF CARDS at the Krakow Film Music Festival in front of 15,000 people earlier this year.

As a film composer, Beal has collaborated with Ed Harris’ on his critically acclaimed directorial debut, POLLOCK, as well as APPALOOSA. Other TV and film scores include director Bob Rafelson’s NO GOOD DEED, William H. Macy’s acclaimed DOOR TO DOOR, THE PASSION OF AYN RAND, FROM THE EARTH TO THE MOON (episode 9), the theme and underscore for USA’s hit series, MONK, and ABC’s UGLY BETTY. Beal’s documentary scoring credits include the critically acclaimed films BLACKFISH and TIBET: CRY OF THE SNOW LION, which chronicles the history and religious life of Tibet. He has collaborated on several projects with Academy® Award winning director Jessica Yu including her feature length documentary, IN THE REALMS OF THE UNREAL, as well as LAST CALL AT THE OASIS and THE GUIDE. Other documentary films Beal has scored include THE QUEEN OF VERSAILLES, THE BATTLE OF AMFAR, and WHEN I WALK. Beal has received several Emmy Awards for music including NBC Sports division’s documentary, PEGGY AND DOROTHY, as well as MONK. Beal scored the third and final season of HBO’s Emmy winning series THE NEWSROOM.  He is currently EMMY nominated for his work on both HOUSE OF CARDS and the mini-series THE DOVEKEEPERS.

“Season three was a crucial season for the relationship of Frank and Claire,” Beal explained. “The dramatic arc and disintegration of trust and respect between the Underwoods needed its own voice in the music.“

Beal continued, “I extended the use of the operatic soprano in season three. It’s a sound never really heard in modern scoring, and somehow seemed to be a great sound for Clair Underwood’s burgeoning power and strength. I used is especially in the season three finale.”

Netflix presents HOUSE OF CARDS, Seasons 1-3, currently available for viewing to their subscribers.  THE HOUSE OF CARDS: SEASON 3 – Original Netflix Series Soundtrack 2-CD set from Varèse Sarabande Records, will be available digitally on September 11 and on CD October 2, 2015.

The series will return for a fourth season in 2016.


1. Losing Rachel (2:27)
2. Not Coming to Iowa (2:02)
3. More Human Now, Main Title Season Three (4:49)
4. Respect (1:47)
5. Arrival in Moscow (1:38)
6. We Were Equals (1:52)
7. Underwood’s New Deal (3:33)
8. Roll Call (1:43)
9. Don’t Break a Promise (8:07)
10. I Want the Lexus (1:19)
11. Jordan Valley (3:12)
12. He Was Brave (4:26)
13. A Desperate Plea (2:12)
14. Not a Chauffeur (1:33)
15. Smoking Cubans (3:29)
16. Human Cost (1:41)
17. God’s Ear (4:43)



1. Submerged (2:15)
2. Betrayal (2:57)
3. Deal with Dunbar (1:57)
4. Capture the Imagination (1:41)
5. Expect Landfall (5:07)
6. Remy Spurned (2:20)
7. Every Intention (2:29)
8. I Didn’t Jump (3:28)
9. Trust (2:27)
10. Power Run Amok (1:53)
11. Empire Without Heir (3:42)
12. Yard Work (1:00)
13. Stamper’s Grief (4:35)
14. Taking Rachel (3:00)
15. Leaving You (2:03)
16. More Courage (3:12)