Silva Screen Records will release the GRANTCHESTER –Soundtrack to the Television Series, digitally on January 20th.  The album features original music composed by John Lunn (DOWNTON ABBEY, THE WHITE QUEEN).

“It was a joy to work on,” Lunn comments. “I like to think of the music as a kind of ethereal impressionism where the music comes down from Heaven in order to help Sidney crack these crimes of passion, confront his demons and assist with his love life, though I think in series one God was more successful with the first two than the latter!”

Grantchester is a detective drama set in a 1950s Cambridgeshire village of Grantchester near Cambridge, where local Anglican vicar Sidney Chambers (James Norton) develops a sideline in sleuthing – with the initially reluctant help of grumpy Detective Inspector Geordie Keating (Robson Green). The series is based on The Grantchester Mysteries books written by James Runcie.

Lunn continues, “I was thinking of fifties and sixties Italian movies to begin with but gradually moved towards a more modern score using electronics, solo piano, clarinet and string orchestra. Nevertheless the original inspiration is still buried in there somewhere.”

The GRANTCHESTER – Original Television Soundtrack will be available digitally on January 20th.

About John Lunn:
John Lunn’s music possesses a wonderfully unique voice that spans a wide spectrum of musical styles.  Classically trained, yet contemporary in attitude, he combines a highly intelligent and sensitive approach with a sound that always hits at the emotional heart of a piece. His scores, which match the highest production values with a continual desire to discover new colours and sounds, are continuously in high demand. He is probably best known for scoring the hugely successful flagship ITV/NBC/PBS/Carnival Films drama, Downton Abbey, for which he has received two Primetime Emmy Awards, in 2012 and 2013 and a further nomination in 2014.

John’s recent work includes ITV/PBS/Lovely Day’s adaption of The Grantchester Mysteries by author James Runcie, Red Planet’s epic WW1 drama The Passing Bells, the feature film Electricity starring Agyness Deyn, just released in the UK; Burton And Taylor (starring Dominic West and Helena Bonham-Carter), Shetland, The White Queen (based on the bestselling novel by Phillipa Gregory), for which he also received a Primetime Emmy nomination in 2014, and the reimagining of Hitchcock’s classic The Lady Vanishes, all for the BBC.

He is currently scoring The Last Kingdom, an adaptation of Bernard Cornwell’s best selling “The Saxon Stories” for BBC/BBC America.  2015 will also see him working on Downton Abbey series 6, and a further series of Grantchester.

Visit Amazon to buy the album


1          Mr. Chambers – John Lunn
2          Amanda Kendall – John Lunn
3          The Shadow of Death – John Lunn
4          Sweet William – John Lunn
5          Faith, Hope and Love – John Lunn
6          Repentance – John Lunn
7          The Human Heart – John Lunn
8          Spirit of Peace – John Lunn
9          The Letter – John Lunn
10        The Truth of It – John Lunn
11        Dickens – John Lunn
12        Frankie & Johnny – Gloria Dee and her Quartet
13        Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home – Gloria Dee and her Quartet
14        I Ain’t Got Nobody (and Nobody Cares About Me) – Gloria Dee and her Quartet
15        Bill Bailey, Won’t You Please Come Home – Gloria Dee and her Quartet
16        There’ll Be A Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight – Gloria Dee and her Quartet
17        Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen – Gloria Dee and her Quartet