Featuring The New Original Song “Gold”

Co-written by Director Stephen Gaghan, Composer Daniel Pemberton,

and Danger Mouse & Performed by Iggy Pop

Varèse Sarabande will release the GOLD – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on February 10 and CD March 3, 2017. The soundtrack features the original song “Gold,” performed by rock legend Iggy Pop, co-written by director Stephen Gaghan, composer Daniel Pemberton, and Danger Mouse.  “Gold” was nominated for Best Original Song at the 2016 Golden Globes. Also featured on the soundtrack are classic songs from punk and new wave favorites including New Order, Joy Division, Television, and The Pixies.
GOLD is the epic tale of one man’s pursuit of the American dream, to discover gold. Starring Matthew McConaughey as Kenny Wells, a prospector desperate for a lucky break, he teams up with a similarly eager geologist and sets off on a journey to find gold in the uncharted jungle of Indonesia. Getting the gold was hard, but keeping it would be even harder, sparking an adventure through the most powerful boardrooms of Wall Street. The film is inspired by a true story.

“This beautiful and unpredictable film spoke to me of violence, desire, destiny, lust and the inescapable twists of fate,” Pop said in a recent article in Rolling Stone. “The actors and the story spun a web of excitement that left me spent and breathless, so I tried to perform the vocal with that feeling in mind … I found myself at a new level of communication, standing there in the studio with Steve Gaghan and Danger Mouse, singing ‘Gold’ – a song for our times.”


1. Gold – Iggy Pop – 3:13
2. Ron Klaus Wrecked His House Performed – Big Dipper – 5:10
3. This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody) – Kishi Bashi – 3:27
4. Spill The Wine Performed – The Isley Brothers – 6:34
5. I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight Performed – Richard & Linda Thompson 3:09
6. Rip It Up Performed – Orange Juice – 5:20
7. Temptation Performed – New Order 6:59
8. Hey Performed – The Pixies – 3:31
9. Atmosphere Performed – Joy Division – 4:10
10. 1880 Or So Performed – Television  – 3:40

The Weinstein Company presents GOLD in theaters January 27, 2016. Varèse Sarabande will release the soundtrack for GOLD digitally on February 10 and on CD March 3, 2017.


BMG will release the official score album for the adventure drama Gold. The album features the film’s original music composed by Daniel Pemberton (Steve JobsThe Man from U.N.C.L.E.King ArthurThe Counselor). The soundtrack will be released digitally tomorrow, January 27. The download link will be added to this article within the next day.


1. Dream of Gold (1:32)
2. Economy, Turned (1:55)
3. The Ring of Fire I – The Prospector (2:12)
4. At the Sound of the Bell (3:59)
5. Upstream, Days Kensana (1:38)
6. Minecraft (2:50)
7. Indo (1:48)
8. Vintage Visa (1:27)
9. Dream House (1:18)
10. The New York Jungle (2:47)
11. Hey, It’s Me (2:25)
12. Sickness (1:35)
13. You’ve Never Felt It (0:58)
14. The Golden Pickaxe (2:56)
15. The Ring of Fire II – The Partner (1:14)
16. This is the F.B.I. (2:24)
17. It’s Gone (2:18)
18. Taped Questioning (2:14)
19. The Disappearance of Michael Acosta (3:43)
20. The Ring of Fire III – The Reveal (3:21)
21. Blue Skies (2:31)
22. Keep Digging (2:20)