La-La Land Records will release the soundtrack for FIELD OF LOST SHOES composed by Frederik Wiedmann (GREEN LANTERN ANIMATED SERIES, THE DAMNED) on CD September 9th and digitally the following week.
“I dreamed of a day where I get to write a epic, thematic orchestral score for a period drama, and that dream seemed just so far away.  But years later, I met FIELD OF LOST SHOES,” described Wiedmann. “During the spotting session, I realized I was about to get the chance to write my dream. As I discussed the tone of the film with the director Sean McNamara, editor Jeff Canavan and producer Brandon Hogan, I knew it would be that sweeping, epic, orchestral score that I dreamed of composing.”
FIELD OF LOST SHOES is based on a true story of the American Civil War, culminating at the Battle of New Market, May 1864. A group of teenage cadets, sheltered from war at the Virginia Military Institute, must confront the horrors of an adult world when they are called upon to defend the Shenandoah Valley. Leaving behind their youth, these cadets must decide what they are fighting for.  The movie’s title refers to the moment when 257 young VMI cadets charged successfully through a soggy wheat field toward Yankee positions—even as many of their shoes remained stuck in the mud—forcing the Union forces to withdraw. The film stars David Arquette, Tom Skerritt, and Jason Isaacs.
Born in Stuttgart, Germany, Frederik Wiedmann came to Los Angeles in 2004 to pursue his childhood dream of becoming a film composer. After a couple assistant positions, Wiedmann scored his first feature RETURN TO HOUSE ON HAUNTED HILL for Dark Castle Entertainment, Warner Premier in 2007. Since then, Frederik has written music for a wide variety of feature films such as COMPANY OF HEROS (Sony), HOSTEL PART III (Sony), THE DAMNED (IFC Films), THE HILLS RUN RED (Dark Castle Entertainment, Warner Premier.), JARHEAD II (Universal Studios) and many others.
After adding 2 Annie Award Music nominations to his resume for the critically acclaimed TV series GREEN LANTERN: THE ANIMATED SERIES (Created by Bruce Timm and Giancarlo Volpe at Warner Bros. Animation), he moved onto scoring the brand new Warner Bros. Animation show BEWARE THE BATMAN, for the Cartoon Network, as well as numerous animated feature films based on DC Comics, such as SON OF BATMAN, JUSTICE LEAGUE: FLASHPOINT PARADOX, and the successful Disney Junior feature LUCKY DUCK. Wiedmann’s upcoming work includes composing the musical score for DYING OF THE LIGHT, starring Nicolas Cage.
“Our film was elevated from the moment we walked into Freddie’s lair,” said Jeff Canavan (Editor, Co-Producer). “Rarely does the magic and inexplicable relationship between music and film find as happy a marriage as it did on FIELD OF LOST SHOES. No film or music school can teach the art form.”
Brookwell McNamarma Entertainment and Bosch Media presents FIELD OF LOST SHOES available in limited release (30 cities) September 26, 2014.


1. Main Title (2:31)
2. The Issue of Slavery (2:37)
3. Young John Wise (1:11)
4. The Initiation of a Rat (3:47)
5. The Flower of His Youth (3:03)
6. Sunstruck Rat (1:24)
7. From an Artist’s Mind (0:54)
8. Libby (1:59)
9. Old Men Make the Promises (1:42)
10. The Recruited (5:02)
11. Love at First Sight (1:35)
12. Young Cadets Marching (1:09)
13. A Picture of the Past (0:58)
14. A Conversation (2:49)
15. I Will Fight for My Family (1:39)
16. The Language of the Winners (1:45)
17. The Helpless (2:06)
18. Thoughts on War (5:41)
19. May 15, 1864 (1:38)
20. New Market Heights (2:15)
21. Vadimus Miles (3:09)
22. Send the Boys In (3:32)
23. Storming the Hill (7:02)
24. Aftermath (6:20)
25. A Soldier’s Heart (2:46)
26. Field of Lost Shoes (4:05)