Featuring Original Music By Howard Shore

Howe Records will release DENIALOriginal Motion Picture Soundtrack on CD and digitally September 30, 2016. The album features original music by Howard Shore (LORD OF THE RINGS TRILOGY, THE HOBBIT, SPOTLIGHT).

Based on the acclaimed book Denial: Holocaust History on Trial, DENIAL recounts Deborah E. Lipstadt’s (Academy Award® winner Rachel Weisz) legal battle for historical truth against David Irving (BAFTA nominee Timothy Spall), who accused her of libel when she declared him a Holocaust denier. In the English legal system, in cases of libel, the burden of proof is on the defendant, therefore it was up to Lipstadt and her legal team, led by Richard Rampton (Academy Award® nominee Tom Wilkinson), to prove the essential truth that the Holocaust occurred. Shore conducted the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for the score.
DENIAL will open in NY and LA on September 30, in select cities October 7 and 14, and opening nationwide October 21, 2016. Howe Records will release the DENIAL – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack both on CD and digitally September 30, 2016.
HOWARD SHORE is one of today’s premier composers whose music is performed in concert halls around the world by the most prestigious orchestras and is heard in cinemas across the globe. Shore’s musical interpretation of J.R.R. Tolkien’s imaginative world of THE LORD OF THE RINGS and THE HOBBIT, as portrayed in the films directed by Peter Jackson, have enthralled people of all generations for years. This work stands as his most acclaimed composition to date awarding him with three Academy Awards, four Grammy Awards, two Golden Globes.
In July 2016 Shore was honored to receive the Locarno Film Festival’s Vision Award. He is an Officier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres de la Franceand has also been recognized by Canada with the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award. The National Board of Review of Motion Pictures honored Howard Shore with an award for Career Achievement for Music Composition, he received The Recording Academy Honors, the City of Vienna bestowed him with the Max Steiner Award, and has received numerous other awards for his career achievements.
Perhaps most notable from his early career, Shore was one of the creators of SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE and served as musical director from 1975- 1980. At the same time he began collaborating with David Cronenberg and has since scored 15 of the director’s films, including THE FLY, CRASHand NAKED LUNCH. He was awarded Canadian Screen Awards for MAPS TO THE STARS for score and COSMOPOLIS for both score and song. His original scores to A DANGEROUS METHOD, EASTERN PROMISES and DEAD RINGERS were each honored with the Genie Award. Shore continues to distinguish himself with a wide range of projects, from Martin Scorsese’s HUGO (Oscar & BAFTA nominee), THE DEPARTED, GANGS OF NEW YORKand THE AVIATOR (for which he won his third Golden Globe Award) to ED WOOD, SE7EN, THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS (BAFTA nominee), PHILADELPHIA, MRS. DOUBTFIRE, and his score for Tom McCarthy’s Academy Award-winning film SPOTLIGHT.
Other recent works include the piano concerto Ruin and Memory for Lang Lang (2010), the song cycle A Palace Upon the Ruins featuring mezzo-soprano Jennifer Johnson Cano (2014), Six Pieces (2014), a cello concerto Mythic Gardens (2012), and Fanfare for the Wanamaker Organ in Philadelphia (2008). His opera, The Fly (2008), which premiered at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris and at Los Angeles Opera, recently completed a successful run in Germany at the Theatre Trier. His chamber music album “A Palace Upon the Ruins—Selected Works” will be released on November 4, 2016.


1. Atlanta 1994
2. Denial
3. The Letter
4. London 1998
5. A Conspiracy of Good
6. The Steps
7. A Prayer
8. Krakow Square
9. All Rise
10. Professor van Pelt
11. A 1995 Pommard
12. The Dishonest Waiter
13. Judge Gray
14. Looking at Prejudice
15. A Return to London
16. The Judgement
17. In My Own Words
18. Epilogue